URSA Steering Committee

Committee Charge/Responsibilities

The Undergraduate Research and Scholarly Achievement Steering Committee is responsible for working with the Director of URSA and the Dean of the Office of Engaged Learning to advance undergraduate opportunities for research, scholarship and creativity on the Baylor campus. The URSA Steering Committee administers the URSA research grants, organizes Scholars Week and other university venues for presentation or publication of undergraduate research and creative activity, oversees an institutional website communicating undergraduate research opportunities, and promotes development of faculty mentors.


  • Tamarah Adair, Director of URSA, Senior Lecturer Department of Biology

Faculty Representatives 2021-2022

ex officio members

  • Andrew Hogue, Director of the Office of Engaged Learning
  • Rich Sanker, Senior Director Prehealth Studies, College of Arts & Sciences
  • Riz Klausmeyer, Director of Undergraduate Research, Office of Engaged Learning
  • Steven Fernandez, Director, McNair Scholars Program, Paul Foster Success Center
  • Wes Null, Vice Provost for Undergraduate Education & Institutional Effectiveness
  • Vicki Patterson, University Research Administrator, Office of the Vice Provost for Research

Student Representatives