Call for Nominations for Professor of the Year Award

Oct. 18, 2012

Baylor University announces the tenth annual Cornelia Marschall Smith Professor of the Year Award, to be awarded to a Baylor faculty member who makes a superlative contribution to the learning environment at Baylor, including teaching which is judged to be of the highest order of intellectual acumen and pedagogical effectiveness, research which is recognized as outstanding by the national and/or international as well as local community of scholars, and service which is regarded as exemplary in building the character of intellectual community at Baylor.

Nominations are requested from all faculty, students, and alumni nominating their former teachers. Nominations of nominees from previous years are welcome. Each nomination must be submitted to the candidate's dean by 5:00 p.m., November 7, 2012, and must include:

  1. a letter of nomination from the nominator, telling why the candidate deserves the award;
  2. a letter from the candidate agreeing to be considered for the award; and
  3. a curriculum vitae from the candidate.

In addition, nominators are welcome to include additional letters that would shed light on the candidate's contributions from a variety of perspectives.

Deans are to submit nominations, along with their comments about the nominees, to the Vice Provost for Academic Affairs and Policy by December 1. The recipient of the award will be chosen from among the candidates by a committee consisting of four faculty members and the Vice Provost for Academic Affairs and Policy.

The award, consisting of a plaque and a cash award of $20,000, will be presented at the University Honors Convocation held April 19, 2013. During the subsequent academic year the recipient of the award will present a public lecture on an academic topic of his or her choosing.