Congratulations to the newest members of Phi Alpha Theta who are being initiated this week: Alex Arroliga, Kathleen Butcher, Gloria Conatser, Rachel Connell, Will deGraffenried, Cara Hoekstra, Gordon Hoffman, Hattie Krawiecki, Kyle Meredith, Will Pitts, Cynthia Reifsteck, Mikaela Sweet, and Justin Vega!
Announcing the Winner of the 2019 Guittard Book Award: Dr. Daniel J. Watkins!
We are pleased to announce the winner of the 2019 Guittard Book Award for Historical Scholarship! Congratulations to Dr. Daniel J. Watkins who co-edited with Dr. Mita Choudhury Belief and Politics in Enlightenment France: Essays in Honor of Dale K. Van Kley (Oxford University Studies in the Enlightenment, Liverpool University Press, 2019).

The Guittard Book Award for Historical Scholarship is awarded annually for a distinguished work of original scholarship in any area of history, written by a current or emeritus member of the faculty of the Baylor Department of History or by any graduate holding a degree in history from Baylor University. For more information, see
Dr. Johnson Awarded NEH Grant
Congratulations to Dr. Ronald Angelo Johnson, who will co-direct a $146,000 National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) grant project with Karin Wulf and the Omohundro Institute of Early American History and Culture. The three-week teacher institute on “Teaching the History and Culture of Vast Early America” will bring K-12 teachers to the Omohundro Institute at the College of William & Mary in Williamsburg, Virginia to explore the #VastEarlyAmerica and to introduce them to tools of historical discovery that will facilitate research projects about the early American history of the places where they live and teach.

Sic ‘em, Dr. Johnson!

Dr. Ronald Angelo Johnson is the Ralph and Bessie Lynn Chair of History at Baylor University.

To learn more about the National Endowment for the Humanities, visit
Grad School Panel and Q&A, hosted by Phi Alpha Theta
Thinking about graduate school? Join us on Zoom for a panel and Q&A with Dr. Watkins, Dr. Stubenrauch, and Dr. deGraffenried on Thursday, Sept. 24, from 4-5pm! Open to all Baylor students!

Contact for the Zoom link.

Hosted by Phi Alpha Theta.

Phi Alpha Theta is our history honor society. Find out more at!
Course Spotlight: MOAS
Fall 2020 Course Spotlight:

Model Organization of American States
HIS 2V89, HIS 4V89, PSC 4V89

Meets Mondays and Wednesdays from 5:30-7:30 in Cashion C317.

Question? Contact Dr. Supplee at
Virtual Open House for New Students
Welcome to our new Baylor students! Whether you're a new major, minor, or just interested in history, join us for a virtual open house with our Chair, Dr. Barry Hankins, this Friday!

Friday, August 21, 2020
*Zoom link provided on the Welcome Week site (login required):
Are you looking for more News?