Student Awards

To view student award recipients please select from the links on the left.
J. Dewey Lutes Peer Research Award

The Army-Baylor University Graduate Program in Health & Business Administration has informally established the J. Dewey Lutes Peer Research Award, recognizing excellence in student research. The award was established in 1987 and named after J. Dewey Lutes, FACHA, the primary founder and the first Director General of the ACHA (now ACHE) from 1933 to 1937.

Michael S. Franz Alumni Award

This award is presented to the student whom the faculty deems has best demonstrated academic proficiency, leadership, and participation in class and community activities. This award is presented at the Closing Ceremony at the conclusion of the didactic phase.

Boone Powell Award for Excellence in Student Research

This award is presented annually to the student who, in the opinion of the faculty, has compiled the most outstanding graduate management portfolio developed during the residency year. The award was initiated by Mr. Boone Powell, a scholar, long-time friend and faculty member of the Program, and is continued by the Army-Baylor University Alumni Club.

COL Richard Harder Award

This award is presented to the student who submits the top Best Practice from the residency year, as voted on by faculty. The award is named for former program director of the Army Baylor program, COL Richard Harder. COL Harder’s efforts to continually develop the Army Baylor program are in keeping with the nature of this award - focused on the long term improvement of the military healthcare system. The recipient of this award will be asked to present at a national forum to be determined.