Business News

Business News NEWSROOM

Business School Student Athletes Recognized for Academics

May 13, 2008

Baylor University student-athletes were honored for academic excellence and community service during the annual Student-Athlete Banquet held Monday evening at the Ferrell Center. Of 17 recipients, seven are business majors at the Hankamer School of Business.

In addition, athletes voted for professors they felt had the greatest impact on their academic career. Three of sixteen professors receiving this honor are faculty at the Business School.

"While much of the success of Baylor Athletics is defined by winning games and championships, the fact that our student-athletes are excelling in the classroom and making a difference in the community is very gratifying," said Athletics Director Ian McCaw.

Business majors earning honors were:

Mark Shepherd - Men's Basketball (graduated in May 2007 with a degree in business management, currently enrolled in Baylor's MBA program)

Joe Pawelek - Football (Finance)

Bill Allcorn - Men's Golf (Economics)

Kristen Hendrix - Women's Golf (Accounting / Finance)

Dominik Mueller - Men's Tennis (Business)

Haylee Abbe - Women's Basketball (4.0 GPA) (Economics)

Lars Poerschke (Economics )

Each year all student-athletes are asked to vote for the Baylor professor they felt had the greatest impact on their academic career. Business School professors on that list included:

Suzanne Abbe

Ernest Fletcher

Fred Hulme

Border Title