Business News

Business News NEWSROOM

VIDEO: Blaine McCormick Selected Collins Professor

May 2, 2003

Dr. Blaine McCormick, assistant professor of management at Baylor University's Hankamer School of Business, has been chosen by the 2002-2003 senior class as the recipient of the Collins Outstanding Professor Award. McCormick will deliver the annual Collins Lecture, "Great Texts and the Development of Business Leaders" at 3 p.m. Wednesday, April 30, in Kayser Auditorium. As the Collins Professor, McCormick will be recognized at commencement ceremonies on May 17 and will receive a cash award of $10,000.

"I laughed in complete surprise when Dr. [Donald] Schmeltekopf told me about the award," McCormick said. "It was completely unexpected because I never assumed I taught enough students to be competitive for the Collins Award. It is, without a doubt, the nicest honor I've received during my short career as a management professor."

McCormick received his bachelor's degree from Abilene Christian University and his master's degree and doctorate from Texas A&M University. He joined the Baylor faculty in 1998 and received a Teaching Excellence Award for 2001-2002.

He is the author of "Benjamin Franklin's 12 Rules of Management," "At Work With Thomas Edison: 10 Lessons From America's Greatest Innovator" and the forthcoming "Shepherd Leadership: Wisdom for Leaders from Psalm 23." McCormick has appeared on "ABC World News Tonight with Peter Jennings" to discuss Benjamin Franklin and on CNN to discuss Thomas Edison.

The Carr P. Collins Foundation provides funds for the Collins Outstanding Professor program, which is now in its 10th year and was initiated to honor outstanding teachers at Baylor. All full-time faculty members who have taught at least four years as full-time faculty members at Baylor prior to the fall term and have taught during the fall, winter or spring terms of the year of their election are eligible to receive the award.

Former recipients include Dr. Joe Cox (1994), Dr. Rosalie Beck (1995), Dr. Randall O'Brien (1996), Dr. F. Ray Wilson (1997), Dr. D. Thomas Hanks (1998), Prof. Rachel H. Moore (1999), Dr. Chris Kearney (2000), Dr. Robert G. Packard (2001) and Robert B. Jones, (2002).

See Dr. McCormick deliver the Collins lecture on video.


Border Title