Baylor > TOHA > Meetings & Conferences > 2014 Conference

2014 Conference


2014 Conference
Stephen F. Austin
State University

SFA Logo

Conference Program

for Presenters

Noon-1:00 p.m.

Wyatt Room
Ralph W. Steen Libary

Sponsored by
East Texas Historical Association, TOHA, and SFA Department of History

If you made reservations and have not paid, you may pay by check or cash at the conference welcome desk
before 11:00 a.m.
mail your payment to
1 Bear Place Unit 97271
Waco TX 76798-7271

TOHA will hold its third annual conference on Saturday, April 5, 2014, on the campus of Stephen F. Austin State University in Nacogdoches.

The SFA Department of History and the East Texas Historical Association are our hosts for the day. Opening and closing sessions will be in the Vera Dugas Building, first floor, and all paper sessions and breaks will be next door on the fourth floor of the Ferguson Building, accessible by a third-floor skywalk from Vera Dugas.

• The conference starts in Vera Dugas LAN 142 at 8:15 a.m. with registration and networking. No pre-registration is required and there is no registration fee for the conference. When you arrive, come check in and receive a nametag, program, and evaluation form before 8:30 a.m., when SFA and TOHA representatives will give the opening welcome. During the welcome, TOHA will present its Kenneth E. Hendrickson Jr. Award for the best article in Volume 15 of Sound Historian: Journal of the Texas Oral History Association.
• Eight sessions, organized into four concurrent time slots throughout the day, will highlight the outcomes of oral history research in presentations by scholars, educators, students, and history enthusiasts. Breaks between sessions, morning and afternoon, allow time to mingle with others who share your interest in oral history.
• At 4:00 p.m. everyone will gather back in Vera Dugas LAN 142 for a brief, fun, wrap-up session. Registrants who are present for the wrap-up session are eligible for a drawing for some significant books on oral history and Texas history. You don't want to miss that! Please complete your evaluation form before you leave to help us plan next year's conference.

AWARD LUNCHEON: A highlight of this year's conference is the on-campus luncheon during which TOHA will present its Thomas L. Charlton Lifetime Achievement Award to Lois E. Myers, associate director of the Baylor University Institute for Oral History and longtime TOHA secretary-treasurer. Reservations were required by March 28.

On its web pages, SFA furnishes instructions for reaching campus from all directions. Once you get to campus, follow this SFA CAMPUS MAP highlighting the locations of parking and the conference buildings.

You do not have to be a TOHA member to attend or present at the conference but membership information will be available. TOHA welcomes you to join our organization at an annual rate of only $15.00/year or $5.00/year for students. Membership includes our annual journal and membership directory, as well as updates and announcements throughout the year. Membership also opens the door to leadership opportunities in the field of oral history through participation on our board of directors.

See you in April in beautiful Nacogdoches!

To ask questions, e-mail TOHA.