Baylor > Spanish Home > Faculty
Merida, Spain

Faculty

Alexander J. McNair
Associate Professor and Division Director of Spanish and Portuguese (2014).
Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin
Courses Taught - Intermediate Spanish
Alex_McNair@baylor.edu

Rosalie Barrera
Senior Lecturer (2002)
M.A., Baylor University
Courses Taught - Elementary Spanish, Accelerated Elementary Spanish, Intermediate Spanish, Special Studies in Spanish
Rosalie_Barrera@baylor.edu

Joan P. Barrett
Senior Lecturer in Spanish. (1999)
M.A., Baylor University
Research Interests - The Tarahumara Indians of the Sierra Madres (Chihuahua), Twentieth-century Latin American Feminist Literature, Oral History Grant on Women in the Church
Joan_Barrett@baylor.edu

Frieda H. Blackwell
Professor of Spanish and Associate Dean for Humanities, College of Arts and Sciences. (1989)
Ph.D., Vanderbilt University
Research Interests - Twentieth-century Spanish Literature
Frieda_Blackwell@baylor.edu

Fernanda V. Bueno
Lecturer in Spanish and Portuguese. (2010)
Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin
Courses Taught - All levels of Spanish and Portuguese languages, Spanish Reading and Composition, Spanish Advanced Grammar and Composition, Introduction to Spanish and Latin American Literatures, Special Studies in Spanish
Fernanda_Bueno@baylor.edu

Rafael Climent-Espino
Assistant Professor of Spanish and Portuguese. (2012)
Courses Taught - Intermediate Spanish, Elementary Portuguese, Latin American Literary Trends: Mid Twentieth Century to Present
Rafael_Climent@baylor.edu

Rosario Colchero-Dorado
Lecturer in Spanish. (2014)
Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
Courses Taught - Accelerated Elementary Spanish, Intermediate Spanish
Rosario_Colchero@baylor.edu

Isabel Colorado-Edwards
Lecturer in Spanish. (2014)
M.A., University of North Texas
Research Interests Sociolinguistics, Spanish Phonetics and Phonology, Second Language Acquisition
Isabel_Colorado-Edwards@baylor.edu

Bill Dooley
Senior Lecturer in Spanish and LAC Director. (2003)
M.A., University of Texas
Courses Taught - Accelerated Elementary Spanish
Bill_Dooley@baylor.edu

Makenzi Epps
Temporary Lecturer in Spanish. (2013)
M.A., Middlebury College
Courses Taught: Elementary Spanish, Intermediate Spanish, Special Studies in Spanish
Makenzi_Epps@baylor.edu

JosÚ Luis Escorcia
Lecturer in Spanish. (2009)
M.A., 2005 Indiana University, Bloomington
Courses taught- Elementary Spanish, Intermediate Spanish, Conversation & Composition, Special Problems, Accelerated Elementary Spanish
Research Interests - Pedagogy, Sociolinguistics and Pragmatics
Jose_Escorcia@baylor.edu

Jan E. Evans
Professor and Graduate Director of Spanish. (2002)
Ph.D., Michigan State University
Research Interests - Twentieth-century Spanish Literature
Jan_Evans@baylor.edu

Guillermo Garcia-Corales
Profesor of Spanish. (1992)
Ph.D., University of Colorado at Boulder
Research Interests - Twentieth-century Latin American
Literature, Twentieth-century Chilean Novel
Guillermo_Garcia_Corales@baylor.edu

Baudelio Garza
Associate Professor of Spanish. (1988)
Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin
Research Interests - Contemporary Latin American Literature, Spanish Golden Age Literature
Baudelio_Garza@baylor.edu

Gabriela Gutierrez
Temporary Lecturer in Spanish. (2014)
M.A., Baylor University
Research interests - 20th - 21st century Latin American Literature
Gabriela_Gutierrez@baylor.edu

Karol J. Hardin
Associate Professor of Spanish. (1992-1995, 1999)
Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin
Research Interests - Hispanic Linguistics, Applied Linguistics, Pragmatics
Karol_Hardin@baylor.edu

Billie R. Hulke
Senior Lecturer in Spanish. (2006)
President-Elect, TFLA
Courses Taught - Elementary Spanish, Accelerated Elementary Spanish, Intermediate Spansh
Billie_Hulke@baylor.edu

Allyson L. Irom
Senior Lecturer in Spanish. (1999)
Ph.D., University of Texas
Courses Taught - Elementary Spanish, Intermediate Spanish, Special Problems in Spanish, Intermediate Spanish for Medical Professionals, Special Studies in Spanish, Honors Thesis
Allyson_Irom@baylor.edu

Audrey Johnson
Temporary Lecturer in Spanish. (2011)
M.A., Baylor University
Courses Taught - Elementary Spanish, Intermediate Spanish, Special Studies in Spanish
Audrey_Johnson1@baylor.edu

Sharon L. Johnson
Senior Lecturer in Spanish. (1985)
M.A., Colorado State University
Courses Taught - Elementary Spanish, Intermediate Spanish, Special Problems
Sharon_Johnson@baylor.edu

Tracey R. Jones
Temporary Lecturer in Spanish. (2014)
M.A., Spanish Literature, New Mexico State University
Research Interests - Second Language Acquisition, Heritage Language Learners, Latin American Women's Literature
Tracey_R_Jones@baylor.edu

Paul E. Larson
Professor of Spanish and Director of Undergraduate Studies. (1993)
Ph.D., University of Minnesota
Research Interests - Medieval Spanish Literature, Literary History
Paul_Larson@baylor.edu

Sijefredo Loa
Associate Professor of Spanish. (1990)
Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin
Research Interests - Hispanic Linguistics, Applied Linguistics, Sociolinguistics
Fred_Loa@baylor.edu

Ana Luna Hoyas
Temporary Lecturer in Spanish. (2014)
M.A., Baylor University (2014)
Research interests - Lexicography, specifically Spanish-English bilingual dictionaries
Ana_Luna_Hoyas@baylor.edu

Deborah Manzanares
Senior Lecturer in Spanish. (2009)
M.A., Indiana University
Courses Taught ┬ľ Intermediate Spanish, Accelerated Elementary Spanish, Special Studies in Spanish, Elementary Spanish
Deborah_Manzanares@baylor.edu

Louis Maze
Lecturer in Spanish. (2011)
M.A., Baylor University
Research interests - Foreign language teaching effectiveness; postmodern Hispanic literature and film.
Louis_Maze@baylor.edu

Jane Muir
Temporary Lecturer in Spanish. (2011)
M.A., Baylor University
Research interests - Modern Spanish narrative; faith, pedagogy, and foreign language learning.
Jane_Muir@baylor.edu

Linda M. McManness
Professor of Spanish and Advisor for the World Affairs Minor. (1990)
Ph.D., University of Washington (Seattle)
Research Interests - Hispanic Linguistics, Syntax, Second Language Acquisition
Linda_McManness@baylor.edu

Janet B. Norden
Instructor of Spanish. (1975)
M.A., University of California, Berkeley.
Courses Taught - Elementary Spanish, Special Studies in Spanish, Methods Foreign Language Teaching
Janet_Norden@baylor.edu

Manuel Ortuño
Professor of Spanish. (1975)
Ph.D., University of Michigan
Courses Taught - Intermediate Spanish For Teachers, Spanish Civilization, Accelerated Elementary Spanish, Introduction to Hispanic Literature, Intermediate Spanish, Elementary Spanish, Studies in Caribbean Region, Special Studies in Spanish
Manuel_Ortuno@baylor.edu

Marian Ortuño
Associate Professor of Spanish. (1986)
Ph.D., University of Michigan
Research Interests - Spanish Golden Age Literature, Cross-cultural Studies
Marian_Ortuno@baylor.edu

Stephen Silverstein
Assistant Professor of Spanish. (2012)
Ph.D., University of Virginia (2012)
Courses Taught - Intermediate Spanish
Stephen_Silverstein@baylor.edu

Lizbeth Souza-Fuertes
Associate Professor of Spanish and Portuguese, and Advisor for the Latin American Studies Program. (1997)
Ph.D., University of Georgia
Research Interests - Latin American Literature and Civilization
Lilly_Fuertes@baylor.edu

Scott Spinks
Lecturer in Spanish. (2010)
Ph.D., University of Texas
Research Interests - Medieval Spanish literature
Scott_Spinks@baylor.edu

Michael D. Thomas
Professor of Spanish. (2001)
Ph.D., University of Kansas
Research Interests - Twentieth-century Spanish Literature, History of the Spanish Novel
Mike_Thomas@baylor.edu

Elizabeth M. Willingham
Associate Professor of Spanish (1994)
Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin
Research Interests: Medieval narrative and religious culture; text study; scribal and early book culture; Hispanic film; Latin American literature; medieval Romance language
Beth_Willingham@baylor.edu

Andrea Woodard
Temporary Lecturer in Spanish. (2011)
M.A., Baylor University (2013)
Research interests - Heritage Language Acquisition, Latin American Literature and Biblical Intertextualities, Transformational Education and the Foreign Language Classroom, Faith, Foreign Language Teaching, and Linguistics
Andrea_Woodard@baylor.edu