ABA News

Program Options Hands-On Training Funding Opportunities Research Current Students
Featured Graduates Testimonies People News Partners
Courses How To Apply Campus Visits

Baylor Researchers Find that Controversial Autism Treatment May Do More Harm Than Good
Baylor researchers reviewed and synthesized literature evaluating a controversial treatment for children with autism spectrum disorders, chelation. The study found that the treatment not only had little support for its effectivness, but also may be harmful.

The winner of the 2015 SERA Bruce Thompson Outstanding Paper Award is Kara M. Styck, University of Texas at San Antonio, and Grant Morgan, Baylor University, for their paper, "Behavioral Outcomes of Early Exposure to Violence."

Kara did her post-doctoral experience in the EDP department

The winner presents the paper at AERA in a special session of State and Regional Educational Research Associations outstanding paper winners, and receives a $1,000 stipend to help defray travel expenses.
Eric L. Robinson, Ph.D., has been appointed to the Iona College Board of Trustees in New Rochelle, N.Y.
The Costa Rica experience sponsored by Drs. Saxon and Hodges of the Department of Educational Psychology was recently spotlighted by the National Association of School Psychologists.
As reported in the Killeen Daily Hearld on November 16, 2014.

With a national ratio of students to school psychologists of 1,383 to 1, Ashley Wyatt, a graduate student in Baylor’s department of psychology, is one of Copperas Cove ISD’s psychologists filling the shortage. Wyatt is completing her first year of internship and will graduate from Baylor next year. “I work with students, schools and families to help create a beneficial educational experience for each student,” Wyatt said. “It is very rewarding to see students find and build upon new-found success at school.”
Faculty Profile
Susan K. Johnsen, Ph.D., professor in the Baylor School of Education and director of the Ph.D. Program in Education Psychology and of the Gifted Programs, was recently awarded the 2014 Council for Exceptional Children (CEC) Outstanding Leadership Award.
Baylor University and McLane Children’s Scott & White will host an open house ceremony and tour to launch the Baylor University Center for Developmental Disabilities (BCDD) from 2 to 3 p.m., Tuesday, April 1, at Hillcrest MacArthur Center, 2201 MacArthur Drive, Waco, Texas. The ceremony coincides with the first day of National Autism Awareness Month.

The Center concentrates on addressing complex issues of children with developmental disabilities, such as Autism Spectrum Disorders (ASD), through its cooperative research, educational, and service programs. The Center also serves as a training venue for Baylor students preparing for related professional careers, who also provide services for the children.
Educational Psychology doctoral students Yarah Farah, Rachel Scalzo, Kari Hodge, and Shanna Attai received Dean's Awards for Exceptional Graduate Student Research at the 35th annual meeting of the Southwest Educational Research Association.
Three special education students (Stephanie Wilson, Molly Walker, and Benjamin Rabideau) from the Department of Educational Psychology were selected as Exceptional Teacher Candidates through the Quest for Quality initiative. Ms. Wilson, Ms. Walker, and Mr. Rabideau exhibited: (a) depth of subject area content and pedagogical knowledge, (b) excellence in instructional delivery, and (c) superior ability to create and maintain a positive, equitable, and engaging classroom environment. The purpose of the Quest for Quality project is to highlight exceptional quality in university-based teacher preparation in Texas.
Dr. Susan Johnsen, Director of Gifted Programs in Baylor's School of Education and Professor in its Educational Psychology Department, has received special recognition from the Texas Association for the Gifted and Talented. Dr. Johnsen has been named as the TAGT 2013 State Advocate for the Gifted and was honored at the TAGT Awards Night Ceremony during the TAGT 2013 Annual Conference in Houston.
Dr. Bagby, Senior Lecturer in the Department of Educational Psychology, addressed the U.S. House Committee on Veterans Affairs on November 6, 2013. Dr. Bagby coordinates the Veterans Educational and Transition Services (VETS) center at Baylor, which offers a transition course for new student veterans and ongoing support for all student veterans. Dr. Bagby is also the faculty advisor of the Veterans of Baylor student club.
Dr. Beaujean has been selected as a Baylor Fellow of the Academy of Teaching and Learning.
Grant Morgan and Aaron Bagget won the 2013 Southwest Educational Research Association outstanding paper award for their paper entitled "Finite Mixture Modeling with Nonnormal Indicators: A Monte Carlo Examination of Fit Indices for Model Selection."
Baylor Autism Resource Center (BARC) featured in Baylor Magazine
Events, Faculty Profile
WACO, Texas (Nov. 29, 2012) --A controversial treatment for autism spectrum disorder (ASD) is not only ineffective but may be harmful, according to a study conducted by Baylor University researchers.
Dr. Eric Youngstrom, Professor of Psychology and Psychiatry at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, presented a lecture on diagnosis and intervention with bipolar disorders in youth.
Daelynn Copeland received the Dean's Award for Outstanding Graduate Research at the 2012 annual meeting of the Southwest Educational Research Association.