Baylor > Political Science > Undergraduate Program > Undergraduate Moot Court

Undergraduate Moot Court
Moot court competitions simulate appellate oral argument before the Supreme Court of the United States. Using the Court's existing case law as precedent, competitors argue a fictitious constitutional case before a panel of judges. This is an appellate proceeding, so there are no witnesses, no juries, and no theatrics. In order to win, one must calmly advance sound legal arguments and respond to impromptu questions from judges. Law schools usually host competitions and law students, law professors, and practicing members of the legal profession judge competitors. And moot court, unlike other undergraduate competitions, plays a major role in legal education and most law schools maintain moot court teams; so the skills you learn here will translate directly into preparation for law school.

Thus participation in Moot Court builds familiarity with actual case law and with the Constitution; it hones oral advocacy and analytical skills that will be useful far beyond a legal career; it brings students into contact with active members of the legal profession; and it gives students experience that will translate directly into an advantage in law school.

For more information, check out the "Useful Links" box on the right, including the syllabus for our new Moot Court course. For those interested in contributing to the efforts of the Moot Court team, please click on the link in the right-hand box titled "Donate to Moot Court." The team welcomes all tax-deductible contributions.

Recent News

Moot Court Wins Acclaim at Scrimmage Tournament

Two teams from Baylor's undergraduate moot court team traveled to Nacogdoches, Texas for a scrimmage tournament at Stephen F. Austin State University from October 17-18, 2014. The team of Julie Nelson and Rachel Reon won first place, and the team of Matt Sayre and Rebekah Mercer won fifth place. Additionally, speaker awards were won by Reon (second), Mercer (third), and Nelson (seventh).

Scrimmage_Moot Court_2014
(left to right): Matt Sayre (Political Science, 2016); Rebekah Mercer (Political Science, 2016); Julie Nelson (University Scholar, 2017); Rachel Reon (Communications and Political Science, 2016); and Professor Steve Block

Moot Court Wins Region, Advances to National Tournament

Baylor's undergraduate moot court team traveled to Texas Tech School of Law this past weekend and returned as the Southwest regional champions. Meaghan Nowell (University Scholars, 2012) and Daniel Blauser (Political Science and History, 2011) advanced to the final round where they successfully argued their case before two sitting district judges and TTU's advocacy director.

Moot Court_Texas Tech 2010 Group
The group that traveled to the regional tournament pose after preliminary rounds
on Friday night. Back row (left to right): Professor Matthew Brogdon, Jesse Muth,
Kristy Blurton, Daniel Blauser. Front row (left to right): Sarah Rafie, Meaghan
Nowell, Yvette Gonzalez.

Moot Court_Texas Tech 2010 Final Round
Daniel Blauser and Meaghen Nowell (front left) pose with their opponents from
the University of Dallas after the final round. The judges are (left to right)
Professor Robert Sherwin, Judge Reuben Reyes (Baylor Law 1990), and Judge
Les Hatch.

Nowell and Blauser also earned a trip to the national championship tournament at Tulane's law school next January. Sarah Rafie (Political Science, 2013) and Kristy Blurton (Psychology and Criminal Justice, 2011) likewise earned a berth in the national tournament with their impressive performance and Rafie was honored as the tournament's top speaker.

Moot Court_Texas Tech 2010 Rafie and Blurton
Sarah Rafie and Kristy Blurton pose after advancing to
quarterfinals and qualifying for nationals.

This is the second consecutive year that Baylor has taken the top spot in the Southwest, and knocked off a few of our Big 12 rivals in the process - quite an achievement for a program in only its third year of existence. We are looking to build on this win as we prepare for the national tournament. Last year we returned with the second ranked team in the nation; there is only one way to improve on that.

Baylor Takes Second Place in National Tournament

Congratulations are due to Erik Baumann (Philosophy, 2010) and Ray Panneton (Political Science, 2010) who earned second place in the 2010 national tournament of the American Collegiate Moot Court Association (ACMA). Chosen on the basis of regional competitions, the nation's top 64 teams competed in the tournament last weekend in Miami, hosted by Florida International University's College of Law. Erik and Ray, who came into the tournament as the southwest regional champions, advanced to the final round, defeating three other regional champions along the way, including the tournament's top seed. Baylor was one of only a handful of schools to send multiple teams to nationals. David Matthew (Political Science, 2010) and Meaghan Nowell (University Scholars, 2011) also made a strong showing in the tournament.

See HERE for more information about the Moot Court team's national ranking.

Moot Court_AMCA Nationals 2010 Ray and Erik
Erik Baumann and Ray Panneton after placing
second in the 2010 ACMA National Tournament

Baylor Law to Host Undergraduate Competition

The Baylor Undergraduate Moot Court Association is partnering with the Law School to host an intercollegiate moot court competition this spring. Baylor Law has the finest facility in the state, so the tournament is a prime opportunity for the Law School to recruit some of the brightest prospective law students in the region. It also gives Baylor Undergraduate Moot Court an opportunity to further build on the foundation of excellence we have begun laying this year.

Baylor Wins Regional Tournament
Qualifies for National Championships

In a tournament hosted by the Texas Tech Law School (Nov. 6-7, 2009), Baylor came away with a win in more ways than one. Erik Baumann and Ray Panneton took home the first place trophy, arguing in the final round before a panel of judges that included former Attorney General Alberto Gonzalez, while Meaghan Nowell and David Matthew finished in the top four. Both teams earned berths in the national championship tournament to be held at Florida International University in January.

Moot Court_Texas Tech 2009 Erik and RayMoot Court_Texas Tech 2009 Meaghan and David
(Above left: Erik Baumann and Ray Panneton in the courtroom after winning the final round. Above right: David Matthew and Meaghan Nowell advanced to the semi-finals and qualified for nationals.)

Moot Court_Texas Tech 2009 with Alberto Gonzalez
(Finalists at the Tech conference pose with three judge panel following the final
round. Former U.S. Attorney General Alberto Gonzalez is in the center.
Baylor's Ray Panneton and Erik Baumann are on the left.)

Moot Court_Texas Tech 2009 Group
(Baylor participants left to right: David Matthew, Meaghan Nowell,
Jennifer Cook, Travis Krause, Erik Baumann, Ray Panneton)

Baylor Excels in Fall Tournament

Baylor made a strong showing in its first tournament of the year (Oct. 30-31, 2009). Texas Wesleyan School of Law hosted the 50-team tournament, which included teams from UT-Austin, Texas Tech, Texas A&M, University of Dallas, Arkansas State, Howard Payne, North Texas, and UT-Arlington. Baylor was the only school to place two teams in the quarterfinals. And congratulations to Erik Baumann who took home one of the tournament's top speaker awards.

Moot Court_Wesleyan 2009 Group
(Two Baylor teams pose after breaking into quarterfinals. Left to right: Ray Panneton, Erik
Baumann, David Matthew, Meaghan Nowell. Also competing: Daniel Blauser, Ariel Stevenson,
Jennifer Cook, Alvin Okonkwo.)