Baylor > Political Science > Miller Lecture Series

Robert T. Miller Lecture Series

Dr. Robert T. Miller devoted his life to Baylor University and the teaching of Political Science. He received his B.A. and M.A. degrees from Baylor prior to earning the Ph.D. in Government at the University of Texas-Austin. He taught at Baylor University from 1946 to 1995, having offered courses in virtually every area of Political Science over those years. He served as the Chair of the Department of Political Science from 1962 until 1990, when he was appointed the R.W. Morrison Distinguished Professor of Political Science. Dr. Miller was the R.W. Morrison Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Political Science.

Dr. Miller made significant contributions to the study of constitutional law. He authored or co-authored several books and articles, including Toward Benevolent Neutrality: Church, State, and the Supreme Court (with Ronald B. Flowers), 4th ed. 1992; Church and State in Scripture History and Constitutional Law (with James E. Wood, Jr. and E. Bruce Thompson), 1958; Church and State, 1961; and was contributor to numerous books and journals. He served as an Associate Editor of the Journal of Church and State since 1959, contributing an article that appeared in the first volume of that journal. For fifteen years, he wrote the Notes on the Church-State Affairs section of the Journal of Church and State.

Dr. Miller was an active participant in the life of Baylor University, having held several administrative positions at the institution. He was Associate Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences from 1979-1984, Acting Director of Church-State Studies, 1979-1980, Vice Provost for Instructional Programs, 1984-1987, Dean of Continuing Education and Faculty/Staff Development, 1987-1990, Co-Director of Baylor in the British Isles, 1983-1991, and Director, Baylor Washington Internship Program, 1992-1995. He received numerous awards from the university, including selection as Outstanding Faculty Senator, 1986, Outstanding Tenured Professor, 1986-87, and recipient of the Herbert H. Reynolds Award, 1990.

Although he "retired" from full-time faculty service in 1990, Dr. Miller continued to play an active role in the life of Baylor University and the Waco community. He was a Deacon of the First Baptist Church in Waco, and he served as a committeeman and an election judge in his precinct for many years. Dr. Miller was married to Professor Ann V. Miller, Professor and Master Teacher of English at Baylor. They have two children, Robert, Jr. and Laurie Anne Smith, both graduates of Baylor. Dr. Miller died July, 1996.

The ROBERT T. MILLER PROFESSORSHIP DISTINGUISHED LECTURE SERIES is sponsored by the Department of Political Science at Baylor University and is made possible by the many contributors to the Robert T. Miller Professorship.