Baylor > Modern Languages & Cultures > Division of Spanish and Portuguese

Division of Spanish and Portuguese

Dr. Alex McNair, Director

Spain and Portugal occupy the Iberian Peninsula, which lies in southwestern Europe. Both countries are now members of the European Communities (EC).

Most of the peninsula is occupied by Spain, whose major languages are Spanish (with several dialects), Euskara (the language of the Basque people), Galician (Gallego), and Catalan (in eastern Spain).

The Republic of Portugal covers about 15 percent of the Iberian Peninsula. The official language of Portugal is Portuguese, and its capital, the port city of Lisbon, offers both anachronistic charm and industrial might.

l3 l5


For questions specifically pertaining to Spanish, Portuguese, or Latin American Studies, please contact the Division of Spanish and Portuguese:

Burleson 114-120 Suite
One Bear Place #97393
Waco, Texas 76798-7393
Office: (254) 710-6398
Fax: (254) 710-3799