Baylor University Poage Library

Bob Bullock's 1999 Résumé


Born July 10, 1929, in Hillsboro, Texas.

Married to Jan Felts Teague of Austin, TX.; children, Mrs. Phil (Lindy) Ward, Robert D. (Bobby) Bullock, Jr. and Mrs. Kimberly Teague Ader; grandson, Grant Bullock Robinson.

Private Boards

Director: Golden State Bancorp and California Federal Bank, both of California; Equity Corporation, Inc., Lufkin, TX.

Trustee: Baylor College of Medicine, Houston.

Member: Board of Counselors, George Bush School of Government and Public Service; Advisory Board, Star Museum at Washington-on-the Brazos.

Public Service

38th Lieutenant Governor and President of the Senate, State of Texas, sworn in January 15, 1991. Sworn in to a second four-year term January 17, 1995-1999.

Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts, 1975-1990

Secretary of State, 1971-1972

Aide to the Governor, 1969-1971

Assistant Attorney General, 1967-1968

Texas Historical Commission, 1963-1965

Member, Texas House of Representatives, 1957-1959

Education and Honors

Hillsboro Public Schools
AA, Hill College, 1949
BA, Texas Tech University, 1958
JD, Baylor Law School, 1958

Santa Rita Award, 1996, University of Texas System Board of Regents

Distinguished Public Servant Award, 1996, Texas Tech University Center for Public Service

Merit Award for 1996, National Junior College Athletic Association

Founders Medal, 1995, Baylor University

Price Daniel Distinguished Public Service Award, 1995, Baylor University

Honored with the naming of the Bob Bullock Hall, 1995, by Texas A&M International at Laredo

Honored with the naming of the Bob Bullock Center for Business and Computer Science and the Bob Bullock Endowed Scholarship, 1994, by Blinn College

Baylor Lawyer of the Year, 1994, Baylor School of Law

Frank C. Erwin Award, 1994, University of Texas

Mirabeau B. Lamar Medal, 1993, Assn. of Texas Colleges and Universities

Distinguished Alumnus, Baylor University, 1992

Honored with the naming of the Bob Bullock Sports Center, 1992, Hill College

Honorary Doctor of Humanities in Medicine, Baylor College of Medicine, 1992

Distinguished Alumnus, 1988, Texas Tech University

Hall of Fame, 1985, Hill College

Other Honors and Awards

  • James Madison Award, 1998, Freedom of Information Foundation of Texas
  • Anson Jones Award, 1998, Fort Worth Scottish Rite Foundation
  • Harvey Penick Award, Excellence in the Game of Life, 1998, Caritas of Austin
  • Lifetime Achievement Award, 1998, Texas Daily Newspaper Association
  • Good Citizenship Award, 1998, Sons of the American Revolution
  • Outstanding Legislator, 75th Session, 1997, Texas Police Chiefs Association
  • State Legislative Service Award for Water Resources, 1997, Lone Star Chapter of the Sierra Club
  • 1997 Stewardship of Texas Values Award, Texas Lyceum
  • Government Communicator of the Year, 1997, Lone Star Chapter of the National Association of Government Communicators
  • Legislative Hall of Fame, 1997, Texas Association of Realtors
  • Public Policy Award, 1997, American Cancer Society and the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas
  • Border Texan of the Year, 1997, Hidalgo Chamber of Commerce and Border Festival Committee
  • Legislative Leadership Award, 1997, Texas Game Warden Association
  • Award of Excellence, 1996, Texas Association of Symphony Orchestras
  • Achievement in Support of Tort Reform, 1995, Texas Civil Justice League
  • Humanitarian of the Year, 1995, Texas Democratic Women
  • Spirit of the Centennial Award by the Friends of Fair Park, 1995, for support of Dallas Fair Park
  • "Manager of the Year" award, 1995, and "Better than the Best" award, 1993, Texas Monthly magazine
  • Texas Maverick Award, 1995, Board of Directors of the Corporate Fund for Children
  • Honorary Membership Award, 1994, Texas Society of Architects
  • "Hats Off" Award, 1995, Texas Independent Producers and Royalty Owners Assn.
  • Texan of the Year, 1995, Texas Legislative Conference
  • Gov. Allan Shivers Public Service Award, 1995, Austin Headliners' Foundation
  • Outstanding Services to Libraries Award, 1994, Texas Library Assn.
  • Legislator of the Year, 1994, Texas Junior College Teachers Assn.
  • National Jaycee Hall of Leadership, 1994
  • Mr. South Texas, 1993, Laredo's Washington Birthday Celebration Assn.
  • Leadership Award, Assn. for Retarded Citizens, 1992
  • Public Official Award, 1992, Texas Public Power Association
  • Friend of Education Award, 1991, Texas Classroom Teachers Association
  • Elected Official Award, 1991, Texas Human Rights Foundation
  • Legislator of the Year, 1991, Houston Police Patrolman’s Union
  • Legislator of Year, 1991, Sportsmen Conservationists of Texas
  • “Champion of Children” Award, 1991, Texas Coalition for Juvenile Justice
  • Leon Rothenberg Taxpayer Service Award, 1989, Federation of Tax Administrators
    Pacesetter Award, 1989, Texas Assn. of Business
  • Outstanding Texas Leader, 1989, John Ben Shepperd Public Leadership Forum
  • Honored for his hiring and employment practices in state government, 1989, Texas Association of the Deaf
  • All-Pro Government Management Team, 1988, City and State magazine
  • Governmental Agency of the Year Award, 1987, Governor’s Committee for Disabled Persons
  • Presidential Award, 1987, Austin NAACP
  • Employment Award, 1981 and 1986, NAACP Texas Chapters
  • Hall of Fame, 1985, Hillsboro Chamber of Commerce
  • Louisville Gold Medal, 1979, Municipal Finance Officers Association of the U.S. and Canada

Public Service Boards and Commissions

Chair: Legislative Budget Board; Legislative Council; Legislative Reference Library Board. Honorary Chair, Restoration of the Hill County Courthouse Advisory Board.

Member: Legislative Audit Committee; Council on Competitive Government; Texas Water Foundation; Texas Bond Review Board; Cash Management Committee; Child Care Development Board; Texas Incentive and Productivity Commission; Committee to Adopt Limit on Rate of Growth of Appropriations; Disaster Emergency Funding Board; Legislative Redistricting Board; Office of State-Federal Relations Policy Advisory Board; State Preservation Board; State Legislative Leaders Foundation; Advisory Board.

Member: Baylor Foundation Board; Southwest Texas University's Public Service Academy; Houston Action of Soviet Jewry Advisory Board; Advisory Board, Save Texas Cemeteries; Honorary Board, Center for Study of Addiction at Texas Tech University.

Ex-Officio Member: Texas Committee on Energy Policy; Texas-Israel Exchange Fund Board. Former member, Texas Racing Commission; Past Chair, Democratic Leadership Council.

Civic and Professional Memberships

  • Scottish Rite Dormitory Advisory Committee, Member
  • National Conference of Lieutenant Governors
  • Century Club, Texas Tech Ex-Students
  • Century Club, Hill College
  • Past member, Baylor Sesquicentennial Council of 150
  • Life Member, Baylor Law Alumni Assn.
  • American Bar Assn.
  • State Bar of Texas
  • Travis County Bar Assn.
  • Coastal Conservation Assn.
  • Texas Veterans of Korea
  • Confederate Air Force
  • American Legion Post 196
  • Hillsboro Chapter 152, AF&AM
  • Scottish Rite, 32nd Degree
  • Ben Hur Temple
  • Red Cross of Constantine
  • 33rd Degree Mason
  • Legion of Honor, Order of DeMolay
  • Royal Order of Jesters No. 35
  • Aircraft Owners and Pilots Assn.
  • Texas Farm Bureau
  • Texas and Southwestern Cattle Raisers Assn.
  • Texas Game Wardens Assn.
  • Former Texas Rangers Assn. Advisory Board of Directors
  • Texas Association of Business and Chambers of Commerce
  • Texas Council on Family Violence
  • Texas State Historical Assn.
  • Life Member, National Rifle Assn.
  • Life Member, Texas State Rifle Assn.
  • Dallas Safari Club