Frances G. Spencer Collection of American Popular Sheet Music

One of the few collections of its size and scope, the Spencer Collection contains approximately 28,000 pieces of American popular sheet music, about three-fourths of which is in mint condition. Publication dates of the items span the period from the last decades of the eighteenth century to the late 1950s.

The list of first editions includes "Jingle Bells", "Drink to Me Only With Thine Eyes" (1800), "Battle Hymn of the Republic", "Maryland, My Maryland" (northern and southern editions), and "Old Folks at Home." Sub collections with the Spencer Collection include songs of U.S. presidents, various editions of "The Star Spangled Banner", Ziegfeld Follies numbers, and hundreds of titles by well-known composers such as John Philip Sousa, Cole Porter, George Gershwin, George M. Cohan, Victor Herbert, and Irving Berlin.