Baylor Law Baylor
 

Professor Tom Featherston to Lecture at National Teleconference, Present at State Bar Course

June 6, 2011

Baylor Law's Tom Featherston, the Mills Cox Professor of Law, will lecture in a national teleconference titled "His, Her or Their Property: A Primer on Marital Property Law in the Community Property States" from 1-2:30 p.m. Eastern time, (noon-1:30 p.m. Central time, 11- 12:30 p.m. Mountain time, 10-11:30 a.m. Pacific time) on Tuesday, June 7. The teleconference is a CLE from the ABA's section of Real Property, Trust and Estate Law. Tom will be joined by Karen Boxx of the University of Washington School of Law, Seattle.

During this presentation the panelists will provide a basic overview of the marital property laws of the community property states. They will examine the fundamental differences that exist between common law states and community property states, including the principles that the community property states share; the areas of law where the community property states differ; key transfer and income tax consequences applicable to community property ownership; and how the source of funds impacts whether property is community property. They will also indentify and address some of the questions an estate planning lawyer in a common law state may ask about community property.

On Wednesday, June 8, Featherston will present a paper and chair an hour-and-a-half panel discussion at the State Bar's Advanced Estate Planning and Probate Course in Ft Worth. The other panel members are Steve Saunders and Frank Ikard from Austin. The name of the paper and the panel discussion are "The 21st Century Trust--It's Not Your Father's Trust."

Copyright © Baylor® University. All rights reserved. Legal Disclosures.        Disclaimer