The Inauguration of Kenneth Winston Starr -- The 14th President of Baylor University
Baylor Seal

About Baylor

While remaining true to its heritage, Baylor has grown to more than 14,000 students, and its nationally recognized academic divisions provide 151 baccalaureate degree programs at the undergraduate level. The University also offers 76 master's and 29 doctoral programs, two educational specialists, juris doctor, master of divinity and doctor of ministry. The 735-acre campus is located on the banks of the Brazos River in Waco, Texas, a metropolitan area of 200,000 people.

Baylor History

Baylor University was chartered in 1845 by the Republic of Texas. Today, Baylor is the oldest institution of higher learning in the state and the largest Baptist university in the world. Originally located in Independence, Texas, Baylor moved to its present location in Waco in 1886.

Mission Statement

The mission of Baylor University is to educate men and women for worldwide leadership and service by integrating academic excellence and Christian commitment within a caring community.

Baylor 2012

Progress always starts with a vision. A plan for moving forward. For Baylor, that vision began in 2000 with the development of Baylor 2012. This plan represents a new and exciting path for the future. The purpose is to assume a unique leadership position in higher education by adding new faculty, facilities and programs, all while retaining and remaining grounded in our strong Christian mission.