Baylor > Graduate School > Current Students > Grad Tracks > Teaching Awards

Teaching Awards

This award, granted twice per year, honors graduate student Teachers of Record who were able to balance their own studies and responsibilities while demonstrating excellence as classroom instructors. Recipients are given the opportunity to attend teaching conferences, as well as a plaque commemorating their achievement.

2014-15 Winners

Courtney Bailey Parker is a doctoral student in English. Dr. Maurice Hunt noted that "Parker is a very gifted teacher, who will only get better. And she is academically one of our best graduate students."

Courtney Parker OGSIA 2014
Dr. Richard Russell, Dr. Dianna Vitanza, Courtney Bailey Parker, Provost David Garland

Todd Ferguson is a doctoral student in Sociology. "Todd's impressive pedgogical skills are matched only by his big heart and charming personality. He is highly respected by his fellow classmates and professors, who are always quick to point out his balance of intellect and compassion," said Dr. Christopher Pieper

Todd Ferguson OGSIA 2014
Dr. Kevin Dougherty, Todd Ferguson, Provost David Garland

Jeremy Leatham is a doctoral student in English. "In total, Jeremy is a devoted, considerate, creative, and engaging teacher [...] he is well on the way to a successful career as a university-level instructor," said Dr. Dan Walden.

Jeremy Leatham OGSIA 2014
Dr. Richard Russell, Dr. Dianna Vitanza, Jeremy Leatham, Provost David Garland

Huy Nguyen is a doctoral student in Mathematics. Dr. Ronald Morgan said "Huy cares deeply about teaching. He wants to handle the situations that come up in the best ways possible."

Huy Nguyen OSDIA 2014
Dr. Lance Littlejohn, Huy Nguyen, Dr. Mark Sepanski, Provost David Garland


Courtney Bailey Parker, Department of English
Tom Carpenter, Department of Psychology & Neuroscience
Nathan Warf, Department of Political Science
Jeremy Leatham, Department of English
Huy Nguyen, Department of Mathematics
Todd Ferguson, Department of Sociology


Joshua Tom, Department of Sociology
Jessica Stewart, Department of Mathematics
Scott Cleveland, Department of Philosophy
Dana Horgen, Department of Chemistry
Brandon Martinez, Department of Sociology
David Echelbarger, Department of Philosophy


DeAnn Barta, Department of English
Jill Estes, Department of Health, Human Performance & Recreation
Colby Moore, Department of Biology
Matt Moser, Department of Religion
Amy Rozzi, Department of Statistics
Sunny Wells, Department of Curriculum and Instruction


Kristin Connors, Department of Biomedical Studies
Christina Crenshaw, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
Ginger Hanchey, Department of English
Tate Barrett, Department of Environmental Science
Nathan Kilpatrick, Department of English
Shanna Granstra, Department of Sociology


Tommy Pettit, Department of Biology
Josh Stigall, Department of Religion
Andrew Whitehead, Department of Sociology
Megan Johnson, BIC
Aiyana Henry, Department of Curriculum and Instruction
Martin Husemann, Department of Biology


Angela Douglass, Department of Physics
Bethany Smith, Department of English
Anica Debelica, Department of Biology
Tracey Sulak, Department of Psychology
Bethany Bear, Department of English
Mark Boone, Department of Philosophy


Amy Antoninka, Department of Philosophy
Adrienne Atkins, Department of English
Jennifer Mills, Department of English
Lewis Pearson, Department of Philosophy
Joel Schwartz, Department of Philosophy
Kathleen Miller, Department of English


Lydia Cooper, Department of English
Leslie B. Jones, Department of Mathematics
Tiffany Turner, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
David Alexander, Department of Philosophy
Kristen Beavers, Department of Health, Human Performance, & Recreation
Ginger Stelle, Department of English