Menu

Faculty FAQs

Faculty FAQs

1. What are Notifications?
2. What are Files?
3. Where do I put my course content?
4. What type of content can I put in my modules?
5. What does Publish mean?
6. What is the Observer role?
7. How do I remove an observer from my course?
8. What are the course roles in Canvas?
9. Is there anything else I need to know?
10. Where can I go if I need help or want to learn more?




Faculty FAQs

1. What are Notifications?

Notifications allow faculty and students to select their preferred communication channels for course activity.

NOTE: Faculty cannot control how students elect to receive notifications. By default, notifications for course announcements and conversations will be sent to a student's Baylor email address, but a student may disable these notifications. Make sure your students understand how you intend to communicate with them throughout the semester.

2. What are Files?

The Files area is where you upload all of your course content. While you can give students access to this part of your course, the Files area in your course is intended to be instructor-facing, not student-facing.

3. Where do I put my course content?

Modules organize your content and provide navigational buttons for students moving through the course. This is the student-facing counterpart to Files.

From the module view you can:

  • Create or upload new content
  • Add existing course content
  • Design a course flow for your students

4. What type of content can I put in my modules?

Canvas allows you to add the following content types to your module:

5. What does Publish mean?

Publish is the way Canvas allows you to make your course available to students. Students will not see your course until it is Published.

In addition to publishing your course as a whole, you can choose to publish or unpublish various elements of your course - including Assignments, Pages, Quizzes, etc. - at any point in the semester. You cannot unpublish the entire course once students have submitted work, but you can unpublish anything within the course.

NOTE: If you wish to make your course visible to students earlier than a week prior to the start of the term date, you will need to adjust your course section dates before publishing your course. In addition, you will not be able to send conversation messages to students until you publish your course.

6. What is the Observer role?
To learn more about observer participation, view the Observers Visibility and Participation PDF.

Observers can

  • View and read announcements
  • View the syllabus
  • View list of assignments and quizzes
  • View the course calendar
  • Send conversation messages to instructor and student they are observing
  • View files unless they are locked
  • View grades of student they are observing
  • View modules and see due dates, point values, etc.

Observers cannot

  • Comment on announcements or discussions
  • Submit assignments or quizzes
  • Edit grades
  • View the course roster
  • Send conversation messages to students in the course they are not observing
  • View locked files or folders
  • Join groups
  • View unpublished courses or course content
  • View the content of a quiz
  • Submit anything on behalf of a student

Observer Limitations

  • Observers can only view the content the student they are observing has access to.
  • Observers can only view the grades of the student they are observing and no other students in the course.
  • Observers are not visible in the course roster to other students in the course.

7. How do I remove an observer from my course?
To remove an observer from your course, visit the "People" link in the course navigation menu, click the gear icon on the row containing the observer, and select the "Remove from course" option: How to remove observers from your course screenshot

If you do not see any Observers listed in the People section of your course, you do not have any Observers enrolled to delete.

8. What are the course roles in Canvas?
In Canvas, you can easily add new users into your course in addition to those that are added automatically. Do this by using the "+ People" button on the People tab as seen here and selecting what role you want the user to have.

Students have the ability to submit assignments and interact with the course. Students have restricted permissions, but they have enough permissions to use Canvas.

Teachers are course admins and have full control over the course.

TAs are very similar to teachers in the sense of permissions, except TAs should not have access to add or remove Teachers, TAs, Designers, or Graders.

Designers have access to create and edit course content, discussions, announcements, assignments, quizzes, and other content features. Designers cannot access grades. If users also need access to input grades, they should be listed as TA instead.

Graders have access to grades and assignments within a course, but will not have access to modify other course content. If users also need to access or modify course content, they should be listed as TA instead.

Observers are non-participating guests that can be added to a course. In particular, this option is used by staff within Student Athlete Support Services to ensure that our support staff are aware of upcoming assignments and due dates so that they can best support our student athletes.

9. Is there anything else I need to know?

Here are a few things to keep in mind when working in Canvas:

  • Your course will be created and populated with students for you.
  • When your course is over, do not select Conclude Course. This may make student information unavailable in the future.
  • You are able to add TAs or Baylor-based observers from the People tab in your course.

10. Where can I go if I need help or want to learn more?

Please visit our Help & Support page for additional assistance.

BACK TO TOP