Dr. Marlan O. Scully, internationally renowned scientist and member of the National Academy of Sciences, begins operation in the newly-designed laboratory at the Baylor Research and Innovation Collaborative (BRIC).

Work in the laboratory will focus on the study of Raman spectroscopy techniques which are used to observe vibrational, rotational, and other low-frequency modes in a system. Similar to fingerprinting to identify a unique individual, vibrational information specific to the chemical bonds and the symmetry of molecules can be used to identify an unknown sample. One notable application of this technique is in the real-time detection of anthrax. The technique has led to a method of anthrax detection that can identify the biological weapon in just one femtosecond (one millionth of one billionth of a second), making it ideal for use in high-volume environments such as post offices.

The ultra-fast, high-power laser lab at the BRIC will also support the application of laser spectroscopy to biophotonics. Scully envisions working with collaborators on projects ranging from early detection of cancer and osteoporosis, to medical physics and the detection of pathogens such as anthrax and/or aflatoxins from peanut and corn mold, to developing ways to reshape the eye.

Scully's interests span a variety of disciplines and he has published in diverse academic areas including physics and chemistry, environmental science, biology, mathematics, religion and philosophy.

Dr. Scully holds joint faculty appointments at:
Princeton University,
Baylor University, and
Texas A&M.

National and international memberships include the National Academy of Sciences, Academia Europaea, Max Planck Society and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Awards and honors:
National Academy of Sciences
American Academy of Arts and Sciences
Max Planck Society
Academia Europaea
Loeb Lecturer (Harvard University)
Honorary Doctorate (Ulm University)
Sigma Xi - Distinguished Scientist Award
Frederic Ives Medal/Jarus W. Quinn Endowment (OSA)
Herbert Walther Award (Deutsche Physikalische Gesellschaft/OSA)
Arthur L. Schawlow Prize (American Physical Society)
Quantum Electronics Award (IEEE)
Charles H. Townes Award (Optical Society of America)
Elliott Cresson Medal (The Franklin Institute)
Adolph Lomb Medal (Optical Society of America)
Sigma Xi Distinguished Research Award
Alexander Von Humboldt Distinguished Faculty Award
Alfred P. Sloan Fellow
John S. Guggenheim Fellow
Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science
Fellow, Optical Society of America
Fellow, American Physical Society