University Research Committee

Reporting Line

The University Research Committee reports to the Vice Provost for Research.

Composition of Membership

The committee consists the following members:

  • Vice Provost for Research (ex officio)
  • Director, Office of Sponsored Programs and Contracts (ex officio)
  • Dean of Libraries and Vice President for Information Technology (ex officio)
  • Dean of the Graduate School (ex officio)
  • 12 at-large members selected by the University Committee on Committees, in consultation with the Vice Provost for Research. These members should have experience with writing and submitting grant proposals.

Committee Charge Responsibilities

To promote and encourage faculty research and external funding of that research, the University Research Committee is charged with the responsibility of distributing funds for the support of scholarly research projects.

Committee Members, 2019-2020

Askins, Sally Lynn Theatre Arts
Baker, Erich Bioinformatics
Blanchet, Paul Communication Science and Disorders
Bolen, Bradley Music
Chambliss, Kevin Interim Vice Provost for Research
Fergus, Tom Psychology and Neuroscience
Ferraro, Joe Anthropology
Hitchcock, Julia Department of Art & Art History
Hockaday, Bill Geosciences
Holland, Deborah Office of Vice Provost for Research
LeCompte, Karon Curriculum and Instruction
Lyon, Larry Graduate School
McKethan, Lisa Director, Sponsored Programs and Contracts
Moore, Josef U.S. Army-Baylor Univ. Doctoral PT Program
Pinney, Kevin, Chair Chemistry and Biochemistry
Sudia, Tanya Nursing
West, James Economics
Wilson, John University Libraries