Protection of Human Subjects in Research Committee

Reporting Line

The Protection of Human Subjects in Research Committee (Institutional Review Board) reports to the Vice Provost for Research.

Composition of Membership

Members of this committee are appointed by the Vice Provost for Research. Federal law mandates at least five (5) members and must include a scientist, a nonscientist, and a person who is unaffiliated with the institution. The VPR or his or her designee also may appoint additional persons from any unit or discipline in the University to serve in an ex-officio capacity or ad hoc consultant(s) to provide expertise as needed.

Committee Charge Responsibilities

The Protection of Human Subject in Research Committee serves as Baylor’s Institutional Review Board (IRB) and provides initial and continuing review of all research involving human subjects subject to its jurisdiction. The committee monitors human subjects research for adherence to applicable regulations, including the Common Rule and FDA Regulations.

Committee Members, 2021-2022

Benson, Nicholas Educational Psychology
Blanchet, Paul Communication Science and Disorders
Burney, Jenessa Pharmacology
Holland, Deborah Office of Vice Provost for Research
Horton, Dennis Religion
Koutakis, Panagiotis (Panos) Biology
Polson, Clay Social Work
Prater, Lyn Nursing
Roberts, James Business and Marketing
Rowatt, Wade Psychology
Schlueter, David Communication
Shafer, Dan Mass Communication
Stern, Sharon Medicine
        2017 2020 2015