Athletic Council

Reporting Line

The Athletic Council reports to the President.

Composition of Membership

  • The committee is composed of fourteen faculty members (including a Senate representative appointed by the Faculty Senate), and a student representative appointed by the Student Body President.
  • The faculty members, excluding the chair and vice-chair, shall be divided into four subcommittees (Governance and Rules Compliance, Academic Integrity, Fiscal Integrity, and Commitment to Equity) as recommended in the 1996 NCAA Athletics Self-Study Certification.
  • One-half of the members must be familiar with women's intercollegiate athletics, and one-half of the members must be familiar with men's intercollegiate athletics. All members should be familiar with or be willing to become familiar with the requirements of Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972.
  • Attention should be given to minority representation among both faculty and students.
  • The chair and vice chair may be selected from any academic unit.
  • Committee terms are for five years.
  • ex-officio: Faculty Athletic Representative

Committee Charge Responsibilities

The Athletic Council reviews matters related to the intercollegiate athletic program, including mission, governance, and rules compliance; academic integrity; fiscal integrity; and commitment to equity.

Committee Members, 2021-2022

Blackwell, Frieda MLC: Spanish and Portuguese
Burleson, Blake Arts and Sciences
Chamblee, Will  Student Representative
DeGraffenried, Julie History
Dolan, Sara Psychology and Neuroscience
Dunn, Mark,  Chair Marketing
Ford, Carie Accounting
Gallucci, Andrew Health, Human Performance, and Recreation
Gregory, Joel Truett Seminary
Hankins, Barry Gene History
Kebaara, Bessie Biology
MacGregor, Jason Accounting and Business Law
Mencken, Carson Faculty Athletic Representative
Norman, Patricia Management
Petersen, Jeffrey Educational Administration
Shaver, Lisa J. English