Foundation Certificate

Sample CertificateThe foundation-level courses form the core of Truett Seminary's Certificate Program curriculum and are designed to take approximately 16 to 18 months to complete as students progress through them one at a time. All but the first course (CCF00) are 12-weeks in length, but many students finish within a shorter timeframe. The first two courses (CCF00 and CCF01) must be taken chronologically. The remaining four courses may be taken in any order.

These designed to work together to form a strong foundation of understanding within the Christian faith and are modeled after the core curriculum of Truett Seminary’s prestigious Master of Divinity program. By completing all six courses, students earn a Certificate of Christian Foundation.


I. CCF00 - Orientation and Formation

Introduction of spiritual formation and preparation for student success (Must be completed first)

II. CCF01 - Biblical Interpretation

How to better read, interpret, and apply Scripture (Must be completed second)

III. CCF02 - Survey of the Old Testament

Overview of the Old Testament with a particular focus on its historical and cultural contexts

IV. CCF03 - Survey of the New Testament

Overview of the New Testament with the goal of helping students understand Scriptures in the same way as the early church

V. CCF04 - Introduction to Theology

Vibrant exploration of Christian doctrines and the practical ways of how beliefs affect the Christian life

VI. CCF05 - Introduction to Church History

Brief but descriptive overview of our shared Christian story with an added emphasis on the history of Baptist life in the United States

George W. Truett Theological Seminary