Willson-Addis Lecture

Willson-Addis Lecture

"The 'Essential Oneness' of a Christian World Communion: The Case of the Baptist World Alliance"
Tuesday, March 28th | 11:00am | Paul Powell Chapel

Guest Photo Dr. Neville Callam
General Secretary and Chief Executive Officer of the Baptist World Alliance

Dr. Callam is a native of Jamaica and a graduate of United Theological College of the West Indies, the University of the West Indies, and Harvard Divinity School. Beginning in 1985, Dr. Callam has been associated with the Baptist World Alliance (BWA), the global Baptist movement which has membership in 121 countries comprising a community of 42 million and serving a worldwide Baptist family of 110 million. In 2007, he became the first person from the Global South to be appointed as the general secretary and chief executive officer the BWA, thereby becoming the first church leader from the Caribbean to lead a Christian World Communion. Author or editor of seven books, the most recent being Pursuing Unity and Defending Rights: The Baptist World Alliance at Work (2010), Drf. Callam has made presentations at fora, symposia, seminars, workshops and services of worship in more than 70 countries.


You can watch or listen to our previous guests at the Willson-Addis Lecture media page.

About the Willson-Addis Lecture
This lectureship recognizes the Willsons and their daughter, Oragene Willson Addis, and examines practical Christianity. The lecturer may be from any branch of the Judeo-Christian tradition.

Past presenters of the Willson-Addis Lectures at Truett Seminary have been:

  • Rodney Reeves (2015-2016)
  • Daniel Aleshire (2014-15)
  • Ellen Davis (2013-14)
  • Andrew Purves (2012-13)
  • Kimlyn Bender (2011-12)
  • Kenda Creasy Dean (2010-11)
  • Philip Jenkins (2009-10)
  • David Augsberger (2008-09)
  • John Sanders (2007-08)
  • James D.G. Dunn (2006-07)
  • David Bebbington (2005-06)
  • Glen Harold Stassen (2004-05)
  • Ellen Charry (2003-2004)
  • Richard Hays (2002-03)
  • Stanley J. Grenz (2001-02)
  • Ronald Sider (2000-01)
  • Robin Lovin (1999-00)
  • Diana Garland (1998-99)
  • Dallas Willard (1997-98)
  • Thomas Oden (1996-97)