Ken Hendrickson Best Article Award

In October 2012, the TOHA Board of Directors created the Ken Hendrickson Best Article Award in honor of longtime journal editor, Kenneth E. Hendrickson Jr. The award, judged by a panel of TOHA members, recognizes one outstanding article per issue of Sound Historian. The award is a cash prize and plaque presented at TOHA's annual conference each spring.

Dr. Hendrickson was in large part responsible for the creation of Sound Historian in 1993 to mark TOHA's tenth anniversary. Subsequently he served as editor-in-chief of the journal from 1995 through 2012. In those seventeen years, he created thirteen issues of the journal. Dr. Hendrickson received generous support for his editorial work from Midwestern State University in Wichita Falls, where he was professor of history, chair of the Department of History, and Hardin Distinquished Professor of American History. In 2007, TOHA named Dr. Hendrickson the recipient of the Thomas L. Charlton Lifetime Achievement Award.

Best Article 4

Volume 17 (2015) Award

TOHA Board member Adrienne Cain presented the fourth Ken Hendrickson Best Article Award to Dr. Jessica Brannon-Wranosky on April 23, 2016, during TOHA's annual conference luncheon held on the campus of Baylor University in Waco. Dr. Brannon-Wranosky's award-winning article, "History, Memory, and Perspective: Christia V. Daniels Adair's 1977 Interview with the Black Women Oral History Project," appeared in Volume 17 (2015) of Sound Historian.


Volume 16 (2014) Award

The third Ken Hendrickson Best Article Award honored Milton Jordan, the author of "Civil Rights and College Journalism: Mark Lett and the 1961 Southwestern University Megaphone," which was judged the most outstanding article in Volume 16 (2014). The award was presented by journal editor Dan K. Utley during the luncheon at TOHA's fourth annual conference, held at Texas A&M University-Commerce on April 25, 2015.

Kendra DeHart award

Volume 15 (2013) Award

The second Ken Hendrickson Best Article Award honored Kendra DeHart, the author of "Jury Hung, Clay Henry Not: Scandal and Judicial Intrigue in Lajitas, Texas," Volume 15 (2013). The award was announced on April 5, 2014, in Nacogdoches, during TOHA's Third Annual Conference and presented to Kendra by TOHA cofounder Dr. Rebecca Sharpless at Texas Christian University in spring 2015.


Volume 14 (2012) Award

The first Ken Hendrickson Best Article Award honored Jenny Paul, the author of "Fighting the Nashville Blues: The Outlaw Image in Texas Country Music," Volume 14 (2012). Dr. P. Lynn Denton, director of the Public History Program at Texas State University, presented the award to Ms. Paul during the TOHA annual conference on April 13, 2013, on the TSU campus in San Marcos.