TOHA recognizes outstanding contributions to oral history by both individuals and institutions through three major awards:

Thomas L. Charlton Lifetime Achievement Award

Mary Faye Barnes Award for Excellence for Community History Projects

W. Stewart Caffey Award for Excellence for Precollegiate Teaching

Kenneth E. Hendrickson Jr. Best Article Award

Visit the links above to discover

  • criteria for earning each TOHA award
  • people and projects who have earned TOHA awards, and
  • Award Nomination Forms