Recent Guest Artists

Historically, the Baylor Theatre has always drawn prominent professional guests, since the days of visits from celebrated artists such as Oscar-winners Charles Laughton and Burgess Meredith, and the hugely successful film actor Samuel L. Jackson. This tradition has continued in more recent years with playwrights such as Oscar, Tony, and Pulitzer Prize-winner Horton Foote, Obie Award-winner Romulus Linney, New York Drama Critic’s Circle Award-winner and Pulitzer and Tony-nominee Tina Howe, Oscar, Tony, and Pulitzer Prize-winner John-Patrick Shanley, and Broadway playwright Craig Wright; as well as performers such as Oscar-winner Estelle Parsons, Tony-nominee Marin Mazzie, Oscar, Emmy, and Golden Globe-winner Ellen Burstyn, Obie Award-winner Austin Pendleton, Broadway actress/playwright Jessica Dickey, Tony-nominee Debbie Gravitte, Emmy and Golden Globe-nominee Matthew Modine, Tony-nominee Liz Callaway, and Tony, Drama Desk, and Obie Award-winner Kathleen Chalfant

Guest artists also include esteemed alumni such as

  • Tony and Drama Desk-nominee Elizabeth Davis
  • Critic’s Choice Award-winner and Golden Globe and Emmy-nominee Allison Tolman
  • award-winning playwright and actor Steve Walters
  • film designer and Disney Imagineer Doug Rogers
  • Artistic Director of the famed Actor’s Studio Beau Gravitte
  • Artistic Director of the Denver Center for the Performing Arts Chris Coleman
  • Broadway veteran stage manager Jason Hindelang
  • television (Chicago Fire) actress Kara Killmer
  • and Broadway veteran and television actor Christopher Hanke

who have earned renown on Broadway and film venues, as well as other alumni engaged in rewarding academic and artistic careers throughout the nation.