Baylor > Theatre Arts  > About Us
About Us

The Baylor University Department of Theatre Arts is an elite program combining an excellent liberal arts education with rigorous training in both academic and artistic fields of theatre study. The department is ranked among the top 20 undergraduate theatre programs in the United States and is accredited by the National Association of Schools of Theatre. For an overview of our program, CLICK HERE.

Class in Theatre 11 Academics

Maintaining a small enrollment of undergraduates and a select group of graduate directing students, the department provides small, focused classes, and ample opportunities to excel in areas including acting, design, direction, dance, stage management and craftsmanship.

The following Theatre Arts degrees are offered:
  • Undergraduate Program
    the Bachelor of Arts in Theatre
    the Bachelor of Fine Arts in Theatre Performance
    the Bachelor of Fine Arts in Theatre Performance with Concentration in Musical Theatre
    the Bachelor of Fine Arts in Theatre Design and Technology
    the Bachelor of Fine Arts in Theatre Studies

  • Graduate Program
    the Master of Fine Arts in Directing
    the Master of Arts in Theatre

Faculty and Staff

Through limited acceptance, the department of Theatre Arts maintains a low student/teacher ratio allowing the faculty to create a nurturing yet professional environment. Faculty and staff members know each student by name and are able to provide individual mentoring as students develop the skills required in the classroom, on stage, and in the shops, and in the design studios.

The department supports teaching disciplines with ongoing research and artistic activities. The faculty engages a larger community of theatre scholars and artists through their extensive publications and through their work as professional actors, directors, designers, dancers, playwrights, and stage managers.

Guest Artists

Historically, the Baylor Theatre has always drawn prominent professional guests, since the days of visits from celebrated artists such as Charles Laughton and Burgess Meredith. This tradition has continued in recent years with playwrights such as Horton Foote, Romulus Linney, Arthur Giron, Tina Howe, and Craig Wright; and actors such as Samuel L. Jackson, Estelle Parsons, Ellen Burstyn, Austin Pendleton, and Kathleen Chalfant.

Guest artists also include esteemed alumni such as Elizabeth Davis, Doug Rogers, Beau Gravitte and Sherri Parker Lee, who have earned renown on Broadway and film venues, and other alumni engaged in rewarding academic and artistic careers throughout the nation.

A Winter's Tale Productions

The department produces five mainstage plays and two to three summer graduate plays each year in which students perform and fill a variety of production positions. These plays include at least one musical theatre offering each year and a range of contemporary and period pieces.

A weekly workshop, attended by the entire department, provides another showcase for student work, one which often encourages artistic risk and exploration.

The mainstage production season is accompanied by the Baylor Theatre Lecture Series, in which invited guests provide an interpretative view of each play through interdisciplinary history and criticism.

Mabee Theatre Facilities

The Baylor Theatre operates within the exceptional Hooper-Schaefer Fine Arts Center on campus. This state-of-the-art facility houses three working theatre spaces: the Jones Theatre, a 300-seat proscenium; the Mabee Theatre, a 250-seat thrust; and Theatre 11, a multi-form space, with movable seating and masking and an extensive lighting/sound grid.

In addition to theatres, Hooper-Schaefer is home to a dance studio, faculty offices, fully equipped costume and scenic shops, a design/computer lab, a technology-ready classroom, green room, dressing and makeup rooms, and a box office. The Baylor Art department is housed in a separate wing of Hooper-Schaefer and works cooperatively with the Baylor Theatre by opening their adjacent galleries for viewing during theatre productions.

Our Mission

The Mission of Baylor University is to educate men and women for worldwide leadership and service by integrating academic excellence and Christian commitment within a caring community.

The Mission of the Department of Theatre Arts is to prepare students for theatre arts related fields by integrating excellence in traditional scholarship and artistic creativity with a Christian worldview. The mission of Baylor Theatre is to act as a cultural laboratory which engages the university, the larger community of artist scholars, and the world.

A fuller statement of our departmental mission and vision is available by clicking the heading above.

For more information take a look at our

Frequently Asked Questions


Baylor's Campus Visits Page

For other questions or to purchase tickets to Baylor Theatre plays and events, the department may be contacted through the following numbers:

Box Office: (254) 710-1865
Administratrive Offices: (254) 710-1861