Student Senate Committees

2020-2021

All Student Senators sit on one of the following committees. Each committee meets weekly and discusses respective topics of expertise.
 
Academic Affairs

Chair: Ginger Gordon | Email: Ginger_Gordon1@baylor.edu

Members: Adam Richenberger | Email: Adam_Richenberger1@baylor.edu
      Cameron Werner | Email: CameronWerner_Werne1@baylor.edu
      Emma Johnson | Email: Emma_Johnson6@baylor.edu
      Emma Nelson | Email: Emma_Nelson2@baylor.edu
      Harper Taylor | Email: Harper_Taylor1@baylor.edu
      Emily Okief | Email: Emily_Okief1@baylor.edu
      Sarah Bentzin | Email: Sarah_Bentzin@baylor.edu

The Academic Affairs committee reviews all legislation dealing with academic affairs. This committee is responsible for maintaining relations with each academic entity and for advocating on behalf of all academic issues. The committee also has the authority to allocate money for these purposes in accordance with the normal allocation process.

 
Campus Improvements and Affairs

Chair: Piper Latham | Email: Piper_Latham1@baylor.edu

Members: Ben Garvis | Email: Ben_Garvis1@baylor.edu
      Camille Casillas | Email: Camille_Casillas2@baylor.edu
      Christine Phan | Email: Christine_Phan2@baylor.edu
      Hunter Walker | Email: Hunter_Walker2@baylor.edu
      Marissa Watson | Email: Marissa_Watson1@baylor.edu
      Elizabeth Palmer | Email: Elizabeth_Palmer1@baylor.edu
      Alejandra Tijenrina | Email: Alejandra_Tijenrina@baylor.edu
      Madison Grace McNeece | Email: MadisonGrace_McNeece1@baylor.edu
      Shea Berthelot | Email: Shea_Berthelot1@baylor.edu

The Campus Improvements and Affairs Committee works to tackle on-campus issues relating to parking, recycling, sustainability, safety, and buildings. Bills relating to physical improvements to Baylor’s campus shall come through this committee. The committee also reviews non-allocation legislation dealing with student life and external issues. This committee shall be responsible for visiting and evaluating all events that are funded by the Student Government Allocation Fund. The Community Affairs Committee shall also play a large role in fostering relationships between Baylor and the Waco community.

 
Diversity and Inclusion

Chair: Katy Crawford | Email: Katy_Crawford1@baylor.edu

Members: Addison Knight | Email: Addison_Knight1@baylor.edu
      Gunilla Diza | Email: Gunilla_Diza-lusimb1@baylor.edu
      Jackson McNeece | Email: Jackson_McNeece1@baylor.edu
      Sarah Lee | Email: Sarah_Lee1@baylor.edu
      Veronica Penales | Email: Veronica_Penales1@baylor.edu
      Marisol Villarreal | Email: Marisol_Villarreal2@baylor.edu
      Bethal Tesfai | Email: Bethal_Tesfai1@baylor.edu

The Diversity & Inclusion Committee primarily focuses on improving the Senate structure to be more representative of all students at Baylor. This year, they are responsible for the revision of senate seats’ distribution, in hopes of a complete restructuring. They also write and see legislation that is associated with addressing any concern of discrimination, or efforts of creating a more fair and equal student life.

 
Finance

Chair: Kyla Fergason | Email: Kyla_Fergason1@baylor.edu

Members: Clay Jeha | Email: Clay_Jeha1@baylor.edu
      Josie Peterson | Email: Josie_Peterson1@baylor.edu
      Kate Pitcher | Email: Kate_Pitcher1@baylor.edu
      Lynley Sharum | Email: Lynley_Sharum1@baylor.edu
      Ruhi Thapar | Email: Ruhi_Thapar1@baylor.edu
      Trevor Rogers | Email: Trevor_Rogers1@baylor.edu
      Thomas Sigall | Email: Thomas_Sigall1@baylor.edu

The Finance Committee reviews all bills involving allocations from the Student Government Allocation Fund, and, in particular, committee bills greater than $2,500. They are also responsible for reviewing the Student Government operating budget upon submission by the Student Body President. This committee shall be composed of at least five, but not more than nine, Senators.

 
Operations and Procedures

Chair: Alex Lawrence | Email: Alex_Lawrence1@baylor.edu

Members: Anthony DeLauro | Email: Anthony_Delauro1@baylor.edu
      Carlie Dill | Email: Carlie_Dill1@baylor.edu
      Carter Burns | Email: Carter_Burns1@baylor.edu
      Elise Morgan | Email: Elise_Morgan1@baylor.edu
      Oscar Salguero | Email: Oscar_Salguero1@baylor.edu
      Tate Korpi | Email: Tate_Korpi1@baylor.edu

The Operations and Procedures Committee views all legislation involving internal issues and the official documents of the Student Government. The Operations and Procedures committee also interviews all nominations to Student Government positions subject to senatorial confirmation or approval, and requests any information that contributed to the nominator's decisions including, but not limited to, applications.

 
Public Relations

Chair: Ashleigh Hines | Email: Ashleigh_Hines1@baylor.edu

Members: Ansley Nevil | Email: Ansley_Nevil1@baylor.edu
      Greg Welch | Email: Greg_Welch1@baylor.edu
      Lindsey Fancher | Email: Lindsey_Fancher1@baylor.edu
      Meredith Montgomery | Email: Meredith_Montgomery1@baylor.edu
      Sarah Miller | Email: Sarah_Miller7@baylor.edu
      Cayleigh Nelson | Email: Cayleigh_Nelson1@baylor.edu
      Heidi Valstar | Email: Heidi_Valstar1@baylor.edu
      Heidi Valstar | Email: Heidi_Valstar1@baylor.edu
      Gillian Beebe | Email: Gillian_Beebe1@baylor.edu

The Public Relations committee is in charge of relaying an accurate image and message of Student Government to other students and campus organizations. This can be done by visiting organizations throughout the semester to remind them of the Student Government Allocation Fund, and planning campus-wide events. They are also responsible for publicizing the Student Government Allocation Fund to organizations on campus.

 
Senate Executive Council

Chair: Matt Cole | Email: Matt_Cole1@baylor.edu

Members: Alex Lawrence | Email: Alex_Lawrence1@baylor.edu
      Ashleigh Hines | Email: Ashleigh_Hines1@baylor.edu
      Ginger Gordon | Email: Ginger_Gordon1@baylor.edu
      Katy Crawford | Email: Katy_Crawford1@baylor.edu
      Kyla Fergason | Email: Kyla_Fergason1@baylor.edu
      Piper Latham | Email: Piper_Latham1@baylor.edu
      Tate Korpi | Email: Tate_Korpi1@baylor.edu

The Senate Executive Council consists of the President of Student Senate, the six Committee Chairpersons, the Legislative Secretary, and is chaired by the President of Student Senate. The committee meets to decide policy for the Legislative branch, hear disputes, and remedy corrective sanctions for members for violations and absences. All SEC meetings are held in executive session.