Student Senate Committees

2021-2022

All Student Senators sit on one of the following committees. Each committee meets weekly and discusses respective topics of expertise.
 
Academic Affairs

Chair: Harper Taylor | Email: Harper_Taylor1@baylor.edu

Members: Heidi Valstar | Email: Heidi_Valstar1@baylor.edu
       Bethany Andress | Email: Bethany_Andress1@baylor.edu
      McKenzie Arata | Email: Mckenzie_Arata1@baylor.edu
      Luke Thomas | Email: Luke_Thomas1@baylor.edu
      Winston Margaritis | Email: Winston_Margaritis1@baylor.edu

The Academic Affairs committee reviews all legislation dealing with academic affairs. This committee is responsible for maintaining relations with each academic entity and for advocating on behalf of all academic issues. The committee also has the authority to allocate money for these purposes in accordance with the normal allocation process.

 
Campus Improvements and Affairs

Chair: Ben Garvis | Email: Ben_Garvis1@baylor.edu

Members: Danielle Fuller | Email: Danielle_Fuller1@baylor.edu
      Katy Turner | Email: Katy_Turner1@baylor.edu
      Megan Mae Oitzman | Email: MeganMae_Oitzman1@baylor.edu
      Thomas Stigall | Email: Thomas_Stigall1@baylor.edu
      Tripp Hankins | Email: Tripp_Hankins1@baylor.edu
      Sofia Reyes | Email: Sofia_Reyes2@baylor.edu

The Campus Improvements and Affairs Committee works to tackle on-campus issues relating to parking, recycling, sustainability, safety, and buildings. Bills relating to physical improvements to Baylor’s campus shall come through this committee. The committee also reviews non-allocation legislation dealing with student life and external issues. This committee shall be responsible for visiting and evaluating all events that are funded by the Student Government Allocation Fund. The Community Affairs Committee shall also play a large role in fostering relationships between Baylor and the Waco community.

 
Diversity and Inclusion

Chair: Bethal Tesfai | Email: Bethal_Tesfai1@baylor.edu

Members: Avery Barlow | Email: Avery_Barlow1@baylor.edu
      Cayleigh Nelson | Email: Cayleigh_Nelson1@baylor.edu
      Haley O'Donnell | Email: Haley_Odonnel1@baylor.edu
      Porter Hankins | Email: Porter_Hankins1@baylor.edu
      Ruhi Thapar | Email: Ruhi_Thapar1@baylor.edu

The Diversity & Inclusion Committee primarily focuses on improving the Senate structure to be more representative of all students at Baylor. This year, they are responsible for the revision of senate seats’ distribution, in hopes of a complete restructuring. They also write and see legislation that is associated with addressing any concern of discrimination, or efforts of creating a more fair and equal student life.

 
Finance

Chair: Clay Jeha | Email: Clay_Jeha1@baylor.edu

Members: Cameron Werner | Email: Cameron_Werner1@baylor.edu
      Chad Carter | Email: Chad_Carter1@baylor.edu
      Gabriela Vela | Email: Gabi_Vela2@baylor.edu
      Nick Madincea | Email: Nick_Madincea1@baylor.edu

The Finance Committee reviews all bills involving allocations from the Student Government Allocation Fund, and, in particular, committee bills greater than $2,500. They are also responsible for reviewing the Student Government operating budget upon submission by the Student Body President. This committee shall be composed of at least five, but not more than nine, Senators.

 
Operations and Procedures

Chair: Ginger Gordon | Email: Ginger_Gordon1@baylor.edu

Members: Emma Nelson | Email: Emma_Nelson2@baylor.edu
      Hunter Walker | Email: Hunter_Walker2@baylor.edu
      Marisol Villarreal | Email: Marisol_Villarreal2@baylor.edu
      Tate Korpi | Email: Tate_Korpi1@baylor.edu

The Operations and Procedures Committee views all legislation involving internal issues and the official documents of the Student Government. The Operations and Procedures committee also interviews all nominations to Student Government positions subject to senatorial confirmation or approval, and requests any information that contributed to the nominator's decisions including, but not limited to, applications.

 
Public Relations

Chair: Sarah Miller | Email: Sarah_Miller7@baylor.edu

Members: Benjamin Nopper | Email: Benjamin_Nopper1@baylor.edu
      Crit Scott | Email: Crit_Scott1@baylor.edu
      Elizabeth Anne Palmer | Email: Elizabeth_Palmer1@baylor.edu
      Guy Wood | Email: Guy_Wood1@baylor.edu
      Josh Jacobs | Email: Josh_Jacobs1@baylor.edu

The Public Relations committee is in charge of relaying an accurate image and message of Student Government to other students and campus organizations. This can be done by visiting organizations throughout the semester to remind them of the Student Government Allocation Fund, and planning campus-wide events. They are also responsible for publicizing the Student Government Allocation Fund to organizations on campus.

 
Senate Executive Council

Chair: Katy Crawford | Email: Katy_Crawford1@baylor.edu

Members: Ben Garvis | Email: Ben_Garvis1@baylor.edu
      Bethal Tesfai | Email: Bethal_Tesfai1@baylor.edu
      Clay Jeha | Email: Clay_Jeha1@baylor.edu
      Ginger Gordon | Email: Ginger_Gordon1@baylor.edu
      Harper Taylor | Email: Harper_Taylor1@baylor.edu
      Megan Mae Oitzman | Email: MeganMae_Oitzman1@baylor.edu
      Sarah Miller | Email: Sarah_Miller7@baylor.edu

The Senate Executive Council consists of the President of Student Senate, the six Committee Chairpersons, the Legislative Secretary, and is chaired by the President of Student Senate. The committee meets to decide policy for the Legislative branch, hear disputes, and remedy corrective sanctions for members for violations and absences. All SEC meetings are held in executive session.