Student Senate Committees


All Student Senators sit on one of the following committees. Each committee meets weekly and discusses respective topics of expertise.
Academic Affairs

Chair: Harper Taylor | Email:

Members: Heidi Valstar | Email:
       Bethany Andress | Email:
      McKenzie Arata | Email:
      Luke Thomas | Email:
      Winston Margaritis | Email:

The Academic Affairs committee reviews all legislation dealing with academic affairs. This committee is responsible for maintaining relations with each academic entity and for advocating on behalf of all academic issues. The committee also has the authority to allocate money for these purposes in accordance with the normal allocation process.

Campus Improvements and Affairs

Chair: Ben Garvis | Email:

Members: Danielle Fuller | Email:
      Katy Turner | Email:
      Megan Mae Oitzman | Email:
      Thomas Stigall | Email:
      Tripp Hankins | Email:
      Sofia Reyes | Email:

The Campus Improvements and Affairs Committee works to tackle on-campus issues relating to parking, recycling, sustainability, safety, and buildings. Bills relating to physical improvements to Baylor’s campus shall come through this committee. The committee also reviews non-allocation legislation dealing with student life and external issues. This committee shall be responsible for visiting and evaluating all events that are funded by the Student Government Allocation Fund. The Community Affairs Committee shall also play a large role in fostering relationships between Baylor and the Waco community.

Diversity and Inclusion

Chair: Bethal Tesfai | Email:

Members: Avery Barlow | Email:
      Cayleigh Nelson | Email:
      Haley O'Donnell | Email:
      Porter Hankins | Email:
      Ruhi Thapar | Email:

The Diversity & Inclusion Committee primarily focuses on improving the Senate structure to be more representative of all students at Baylor. This year, they are responsible for the revision of senate seats’ distribution, in hopes of a complete restructuring. They also write and see legislation that is associated with addressing any concern of discrimination, or efforts of creating a more fair and equal student life.


Chair: Clay Jeha | Email:

Members: Cameron Werner | Email:
      Chad Carter | Email:
      Gabriela Vela | Email:
      Nick Madincea | Email:

The Finance Committee reviews all bills involving allocations from the Student Government Allocation Fund, and, in particular, committee bills greater than $2,500. They are also responsible for reviewing the Student Government operating budget upon submission by the Student Body President. This committee shall be composed of at least five, but not more than nine, Senators.

Operations and Procedures

Chair: Ginger Gordon | Email:

Members: Emma Nelson | Email:
      Hunter Walker | Email:
      Marisol Villarreal | Email:
      Tate Korpi | Email:

The Operations and Procedures Committee views all legislation involving internal issues and the official documents of the Student Government. The Operations and Procedures committee also interviews all nominations to Student Government positions subject to senatorial confirmation or approval, and requests any information that contributed to the nominator's decisions including, but not limited to, applications.

Public Relations

Chair: Sarah Miller | Email:

Members: Benjamin Nopper | Email:
      Crit Scott | Email:
      Elizabeth Anne Palmer | Email:
      Guy Wood | Email:
      Josh Jacobs | Email:

The Public Relations committee is in charge of relaying an accurate image and message of Student Government to other students and campus organizations. This can be done by visiting organizations throughout the semester to remind them of the Student Government Allocation Fund, and planning campus-wide events. They are also responsible for publicizing the Student Government Allocation Fund to organizations on campus.

Senate Executive Council

Chair: Katy Crawford | Email:

Members: Ben Garvis | Email:
      Bethal Tesfai | Email:
      Clay Jeha | Email:
      Ginger Gordon | Email:
      Harper Taylor | Email:
      Megan Mae Oitzman | Email:
      Sarah Miller | Email:

The Senate Executive Council consists of the President of Student Senate, the six Committee Chairpersons, the Legislative Secretary, and is chaired by the President of Student Senate. The committee meets to decide policy for the Legislative branch, hear disputes, and remedy corrective sanctions for members for violations and absences. All SEC meetings are held in executive session.