Staff Council Committees 2021-2022

Constitution and By-Laws Committee

Responsible for reviewing the Constitution and By-Laws for possible revisions. Develop revision proposals to be reviewed by SC Executive Council and approved by SC membership.

  • Rick Shoemake, Chair
  • Kimberly Black
  • Reese Gardell
  • Geoffrey Griggs
  • Ida Jamshidi
Membership Committee

Ensure that membership distribution of the Staff Council is representative of the University Staff according to the Constitution and By-Laws. Conduct voting process for call for nominations and vote on new members. Present slate of nominations to SC Executive Council and SC membership for approval. Review absences from scheduled meetings for excessiveness.

  • Ashleigh Bailey, Chair
  • Nolan Bay
  • Michael Estepp
  • Lilly Ettinger
  • Carol McCulloch
Treasurer & Scholarship Committee

Develop and implement new and creative ideas for promoting the Baylor University Staff Endowed Scholarship initiative (as part of the President's Scholarship Initiative) through Staff Council.

  • Amanda Fisher, Chair
  • Lexi English
  • Deidra Dutschmann
  • Brenda Higginbotham
Service Project Committee

Responsible for identifying, organizing, and implementing one or more volunteer service projects for staff and faculty participation (usually one service project each semester). Requires approval of SC Executive Council and Staff Council membership.


  • Amy Rylander, Co-chair
  • Rachel Garrett
  • Sherri Honza
  • Lauren Kirby
  • Andrew Telep
Spirit Shirt Committee

Responsible for selection (with approval of SC Executive Council), organizing the sale of and distribution of Spirit Shirts to faculty and staff.

  • Tosha Hendrickson, Chair
  • Mike Hand
  • Ronda Kruse
  • Denise Ray
  • Laura Scott
STEPP Luncheon Committee

Responsible for selecting presentation topics and speakers (with approval of SC Executive Council), securing luncheon facilities, ordering food and overseeing all other logistical details for each event, typically 3 per year.

  • Kelsey Rowell, Chair
  • Hannah King
  • Lauren Muhl
  • Erin McSpadden
  • Luke Whiting
Marketing and Communications Committee

Research information, formulate creative presentation ideas, provide updates as needed; strive to see that the website is regularly updated, user friendly and provides easily accessible educational information on staff policies and procedures. Inform the university about the Staff Council's mission and activities.

  • Daniel Ramirez, Chair
  • Crystal Diaz-Espinoza
  • Katie Smith
  • Shelley Zynch
University Committees

Bookstore Advisory: Andrew Telep

Calendar: Erin McSpadden

Campus Diversity: Asheligh Bailey, Nolan Bay, Ida Jamshidi, Lauren Kirby, Daniel Ramirez

Faculty Senate: Mariah Humphries

Health: Hannah King

HR Advisory: Lexi English, Amanda Fisher, Reese Gardell, Sherri Honza, Ronda Kruse

Libraries/ITS: Mike Hand

Spiritual Life Advisory: Denise Ray

Student Life: Kimberly Black

University Grievance: Lauren Muhl

University Policy: Rick Shoemake

Baylor University Staff Council

One Bear Place #97266
Waco, TX 76798-7266