Customized Instruction Institute---BIG HIT!

September 6, 2012
A very successful 3-day Customized Instruction Institute was held at Baylor August 6-8, co-sponsored by Waco Independent School District and Baylor University's School of Education. The 60 participants included educators from Professional Development and Partner campuses in Waco ISD, Robinson ISD, and Midway ISD in addition to several members of the Baylor University School of Education faculty. The institute entitled Customizing Instruction: Moving from "One to Many" to "One to One" introduced participants to the philosophy behind customizing or differentiating instruction to meet the individual learning needs of their students.

Dr. Jon Engelhardt, Dean of the Baylor School of Education, and Dr. Bonny Cain, Superintendent of Waco independent School District, brought greeting in the mornings. Four keynote addresses engaged participants in exploring goals and strategies for customizing instruction. Baylor's Dr. Susan Johnsen, Professor in the Department of Educational Psychology, introduced the institute with a keynote entitled "Customizing for Individual Differences". Opening the second day of the institute, Dr. Joyce VanTassel-Baska, the Smith Professor Emerita at the College of William and Mary guided teachers in "Designing Content-based Units of Instruction." Dr. Doug Rogers, Associate Dean of Student Academic and Information Services in the Baylor School of Education, provided Tuesday's luncheon address, "The Technology of Schooling: a Vision Quest for the Future." Dr. Cheryll Adams, Director Emerita of the Center for Gifted Studies and Talent Development at Ball State University provided the culminating keynote, "Putting it All Together in the Classroom."

Participants chose from a variety of breakout sessions offered in the areas of content, preference, environment, and rate. Breakout session presenters included Dr. Cecelia Boswell, Director of Advanced Academics for the Waco Independent School District, and Baylor School of Education faculty members Dr. Krys Goree, Dr. Barbara Cassidy, Dr. Karon LeCompte, and Pat Arredondo.
Are you looking for more News?