Baylor School of Education Prepares Leaders

April 21, 2015
These Baylor School of Education (SOE) graduates are serving as top elected leaders of statewide associations that serve educators or educational administrators.

Spr-15-KennethBorderDr. Kenneth Border, EdD ’04, is president-elect of the Texas Middle School Association (TMSA) for 2014-15 and will then serve as president. TMSA is the state’s premiere association for middle-level educators, representing more than 10,000 educator. Border became superintendent of Shallowater ISD on Jan. 5. He had been assistant superintendent since 2014 and was a middle school principal from 2006 to 2014.

Spr-15-KrysGoreeDr. Krystal Goree, BSEd ’78, MSEd ’96, PhD ’11, is the 2014-15 president of the Texas Directors of Field Experiences (TDFE). Goree is a clinical faculty member in the Baylor School of Education and director of the Office of Professional Practice for the Baylor School of Education.

Spr-15-DeenaHillDeena Hill, EdD ’07, is the president of the Texas Council of Administrators of Special Education Programs (TCASE) for 2015-16. The organization's mission is to inspire and empower special education professionals. Hill is currently serving as the Executive Director of Special Programs for Pasadena Independent School District.

Spr-15-BelindaNealDr. Belinda Neal, EdD ’05, is the 2014-15 president for the Texas Elementary Principals and Supervisors Association (TEPSA). She has been on the board since 2007. TEPSA has more than 5,800 members who direct the activities of 2.5 million children. Neal is assistant superintendent at Lindale Independent School District.

Spr-15-PintavalleRita Elrod Pintavalle, BSEd ’90, is the 2014-15 president of the Texas Association of Secondary School Principals (TASSP), the largest association for principals in the nation. Pintavalle was the High School Principal of the Year for Region 11 while serving as principal of Kennedale High School from 2006 until last year, when she moved to Kennedale district offices to become district principal of discipline and discretionary grants.

Spr-15-MargaretThomsonMargaret Thomson, BA Elem Ed ’73, is the president of the Texas Association for the Improvement of Reading (TAIR), serving for a two-year term that will extend from 2015-2017. Thomson is a senior lecturer in the Baylor School of Education's Department of Curriculum & Instruction.

Spr-15-ZipperlenDr. Marlene Zipperlen, MSEd ’74, SPEC ’82, EdD ’02, is president elect of the Texas Association of Teacher Educators (TxATE). Zipperlen is the dean of the College of Education at the University of Mary Hardin-Baylor. She is also an experienced educator in K-12, having served as superintendent of schools for Clifton ISD.
Are you looking for more News?