Department of Educational Leadership
The Department of Educational Leadership prepares graduates for exemplary leadership of public and private institutions and for educational research, offering graduate programs in K-12 and higher education leadership and sport administration and an undergraduate program in leadership.
Explore Our Programs
Baylor SOE Recognizes Two “Memorable Teachers”
Two teachers were honored at the annual Baylor University School of Education Senior Recognition Banquet in late April. Following tradition, Baylor School of Education seniors had the opportunity to nominate teachers who had been influential in their lives. Students submitted a nomination essay about their teacher, and the awarded educators were chosen by a Baylor faculty committee. During the awards banquet, the students honor their memorable educator by reading their essay.

For 2023, Katie Bohannon Phillips of Plano and Jenna Helduser Walling of Austin were honored with the Baylor School of Education’s “Most Memorable Teacher” award.
School of Education Honors Outstanding Seniors
Baylor School of Education (SOE) recognized seven seniors as outstanding students at the 38th Annual Senior Recognition Banquet in late April. Seniors were recognized for their excellence in academic and fieldwork in education programs and their readiness to impact the world. Baylor SOE senior award recipients (biographies below) for 2023 are:

Emily Kessler — EDICUT Preservice Educator of the Year Award
Sara Easley — Delores Coker Phi Delta Kappa Outstanding Student in Education
Julia Morrison — Lorena B. Stretch Award for Outstanding Student in Elementary Education
Savannah Webster — Outstanding Student in Middle Grades Education
Faith Stuchly — M.L. Goetting Award for Outstanding Student in Secondary Education
Betsua Morales — Outstanding Student in EC-12 Education Programs
Megan Forshee — Outstanding Student with a Minor in Education
Educational Psychology PhD Students Honored for Teaching
Maryann Hebda, a second-year PhD candidate doctoral student in the Department of Educational Psychology, and Nori Ryland, a fourth-year PhD candidate in the Department of Educational Psychology, were both recipients of the Outstanding Graduate Student Instructor Award for their teaching during the Spring 2022 semester.

This award is given by the Baylor Graduate School fo graduate students who work as Teachers of Record and who are recognized for their outstanding teaching by students, and faculty. Recipients are honored at a luncheon, given a plaque, and awarded an additional travel award to use to attend conferences that will further their teaching careers.