Department of Curriculum & Instruction
The Department of Curriculum & Instruction prepares professional educators for transformative leadership in research-based teaching practice and student learning. Graduates shape the future through research and practice, addressing complex issues with innovation and creativity.
See Faculty Searches in C&I.
Explore Our Programs
New Issue of Impact now Online
The newest issue of Baylor Impact newsletter (Winter 2023) is now online. This Impact issue features exciting news about SOE programs, faculty, students, and alumni who are making a difference.
SOE Receives Autism Grant Award for Innovation from the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board
Jessica Akers, Ph.D., assistant professor of educational psychology in Baylor University’s School of Education, has received a $893,409 grant from the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board to develop an innovative treatment model for children with autism and their siblings.

Akers has created an intervention program that intentionally focuses on improving the interactions between siblings. Sibling SUCCESS: Supporting Unique Collaborative Care to Encourage Shared Success invites the siblings of children with autism or “special siblings” to collaborate and participate as a vital member of the intervention team. Although behavioral interventions are highly effective for children with autism, these behavior programs – while including parents – do not address the importance the sibling relationship.
Baylor EdD Alumna Receives Prestigious Award
Humanities Texas honored Ashley Gibson, EdD ’21, as one of 15 recipients of the 2022 Humanities Texas Outstanding Teaching Award. Gibson received a $5,000 cash award, with an additional $1,000 for her school to purchase instructional materials. Gibson is a graduate of Baylor’s online EdD in Learning and Organizational Change. With a classroom career spanning 15 years, Gibson teaches English at Galena Park High School in Galena Park ISD.