Departmental Scholarship Search

Searching for Baylor departmental scholarships is easy. Simply type one or more search terms (the words or phrase that best describe the scholarship you want to find) into the search box and hit the “Enter” key or click on the Search button.

Note: Be sure to review the qualifications/requirements for each scholarship before applying. 

Search for Departmental Scholarships

Back to Search

Scholarship: Diana Garland SW Scholarship

Information: The Diana R. Garland Endowed Scholarship Fund in Social Work was established in 2010 by friends and colleagues in honor of Dr. Diana R. Garland.

Diana Garland earned her B.A., M.S.SW. and Ph.D. degrees, all from the University of Louisville, in 1974, 1975 and 1979, respectively. She served as a professor of Christian family ministry and social work at the Southern Baptist Theological Seminary in Louisville for 17 years. In 1993, Diana became dean of the Carver School of Church Social Work. She also served as director of the Center for Family Ministries. Prior to teaching, she was administrative director of a pastoral counseling center.

Diana joined the Baylor University faculty in 1997. She became the director of the Baylor Center for Family and Community Ministries when it was established in 1998 with a grant from the Lilly Endowment. Diana later was appointed the inaugural dean of Baylor University’s School of Social Work. Under Diana's leadership, the faculty grew, enrollment increased, and external research funding almost doubled.

Diana is the author/co-author of 21 books and more than 100 academic articles. She was the editor of the "Journal of Family and Community Ministries" since 1993. Diana also has given significant service to national social work organizations. She served as a Board Member of the National Association of Deans and Directors of Social Work from 2009 to 2014 and Councilor for the Council on Social Work Education from 2003 to 2013. She served multiple terms as president of the North American Association of Christians in Social Work. Since coming to Baylor in 1997, Diana has raised more than $7.4 million in research and program grants, from organizations such as the Lilly Endowment Inc., Pew Charitable Trusts Inc., Annie E. Casey Foundation, Henry Luce Foundation and Ford Foundation. During her tenure, the School of Social Work established an endowment of $14.5 million.

Criteria:  For Undergraduate students in the School of Social Work.

Minimum GPA: The University requires a minimum GPA of 2.50; however, individual departments may have more stringent academic requirements.

Need/Merit: Based on need and/or merit.




Limited Access to Clifton Robinson Tower
Financial Aid, Student Accounts and One Stop (first floor) are open to walk-in visitors, however we encourage students to reach us via phone, contact us form or virtual office visit while a construction project occurs at the Clifton Robinson Tower. Parking is very limited. More information about how to contact us can be found here.