Prospective Students


Those applying for admission to the PhD in Religion for 2022, please note the following offer. The Religion Department will waive the application fee for the first 80 applicants who submit their application between now and December 15, 2021. Make sure you get your application in as soon as possible. Deadline for full consideration is December 15, but submitting sooner helps us process the applications more efficiently. To begin your application now, go here to be one of the first 80 applicants: APPLICATION FEE WAIVED FOR THE FIRST 80 APPLICANTS.


Baylor's Religion Department and the Graduate School have partnered to create the Robert L. Gilbert Scholar Stipend. The goal of the stipend is to encourage awareness and to increase the percentage of our graduate student population that comes from communities that are underrepresented in academia.

Robert L. Gilbert was the first African American graduate of Baylor University and the first African American to enroll in the Baylor’s graduate program in Religion. Rev. Gilbert spent his career as an educator, pastor, civil rights advocate, and champion for women in ministry. The pillars of his ministry were his love for the church, his belief in education as a means to better one’s life, and his commitment to engaging the community beyond the walls of the church. To honor his legacy the Department of Religion and the Graduate School at Baylor University have partnered to offer the Robert L. Gilbert Scholar in Religion Stipend. The award comes with a $6,000 annual stipend enhancement good for five years (and is awarded in addition to our regular enhancement and fellowship offerings).

Contact our Academic and Student Support Associate for additional information:

Religion Ph.D. Program Ranked in Top 10 Nationally

The Religion Ph.D. program--a natural place for Baylor to excel--ranked in the top 10 nationally in books publications, citations per publication and citations per faculty member, placing BU at the same general levels as noted programs such as Duke and North Carolina. Read the story as noted in Baylor Proud, December 2, 2010.