The Pruit Memorial Symposium at Baylor University brings the perspective of Christian intellectual tradition on contemporary issues of common concern. Through the articulation of differing views within the realm of Christian understanding, Baylor aspires to be a locus for a distinctly Protestant and Christian world view that is true to the best thoughts in Baptist tradition. In 1996, Ella Wall Prichard and the late Lev H. Prichard III of Corpus Christi established the Pruit Memorial Symposium Endowment Fund in memory of Helen Pruit Matthews and her brothers, Dr. Lee Tinkle Pruit and William Wall Pruit.

Pruit Memorial Symposium Committee

Bob Darden
Co-Chair and Professor of Journalism
Kathy Hillman
Co-Chair and Associate Professor, Director of the Keston Center for Religion, Politics, and Society and Director of Baptist Collections and Library Advancement
Elise Edwards
Assistant Professor of Religion
Lexi English
Career Success Professional
Monique Ingalls
Associate Professor of Music and Graduate Program Director, Church Music
Ronald Johnson
Ralph and Bessie Mae Lynn Chair of History
Horace Maxile
Associate Professor of Music Theory
Stephen Reid
Professor of Old Testament

Pruit Memorial Symposium Production Team

Jeffry Archer
Dean of Libraries
David Burns
Associate Vice President, Library and Academic Technology Services
Carl Flynn
Director of Marketing & Communications for Information Technology & University Libraries
Ralph Sherman
Assistant Vice President for Business Operations and Financial Services
Janell Wellbaum
Assistant to the Dean of Libraries