The Pruit Memorial Symposium at Baylor University brings the perspective of the Christian intellectual tradition to contemporary issues of common concern. Since 2013, this annual symposium has focused on the tradition of American black sacred music in conjunction with the Black Gospel Music Restoration project of the Baylor Libraries. In February 2020, the Pruit Symposium presented multi-Grammy and Dove award winning composer and vocalist, Dr. Cedric Dent from Middle Tennessee State University. In previous years, the Symposium hosted other leading musicians and scholars in the Black Gospel Music tradition.

2021 Pruit Memorial Symposium
Lord, Don’t Move That Mountain!
Women’s Voices in Gospel Songs and Hymns

Doris Akers, Lucie Campbell, and Fannie Crosby

Held virtually on Zoom - Free and Available to the Public
Zoom webinar credentials will be posted for each session the day before the event.
To receive an email reminder for one of all of the following sessions, please provide your email address using this online form.

Opening Keynote Address
Thursday, February 18 - 3:30 pm

Dr. Mellonee V. Burnim, Professor Emerita, Ethnomusicology, Indiana University; Visiting Professor of Ethnomusicology, Yale University (Spring 2021) 

Panel Discussion
Thursday, February 25 - 3:30 pm

  • Dr. Fredara Hadley, Ethnomusicology Professor, The Juilliard School
  • Dr. Cory Hunter, Assistant Professor of Music, University of Rochester; Assistant Professor of Musicology, Eastman School of Music
  • Rev. Dr. Braxton Shelley, Assistant Professor of Music, Harvard University
  • Moderator: Dr. Horace Maxile, Associate Professor of Music, Baylor University

Closing Keynote Address
Tuesday, March 2 - 3:30 pm

Dr. Alisha Jones, Assistant Professor of Folklore and Ethnomusicology, Indiana University

Each year the Pruit Memorial Symposium is made possible by the Pruit Memorial Symposium Endowment that was established in 1996 by Ella Wall Prichard and the late Lev H. Prichard III of Corpus Christi in memory of Helen Pruit Matthews and her brothers, Dr. Lee Tinkle Pruit and William Wall Pruit.