Office of the Provost

As the university's chief academic officer, the Provost has responsibility for all of Baylor's academic enterprises including twelve schools and colleges and more than one dozen research centers and institutes. The Provost works closely with the President, deans, department chairs, faculty, Regents, and others to provide academic vision and leadership and to promote and support excellence in teaching, learning, and research within the context of a Christian worldview.

Welcome Provost Brickhouse

Baylor University welcomes alumna Dr. Nancy Brickhouse as provost. Dr. Brickhouse brings a wealth of experience serving 27 years in higher education and academic leadership and will help lead the University toward our goal of becoming the next preeminent Christian research university.

"I am deeply honored to be selected to lead Baylor’s academic endeavors at such an exciting time in the history of Baylor." ~ Dr. Nancy Brickhouse


A new Academic Strategic Plan

Baylor University has embarked on a new Academic Strategic Plan—Illuminate—that draws upon the institution’s heritage and commitment to becoming a preeminent Christian research university, as outlined in Pro Futuris.

News & Academic Calendar
The progress made on Illuminate, the University’s strategic plan, is incredibly energizing. As we proceed through the fall semester with our campus community unified around the goals of Illuminate, I am extremely grateful for and appreciative to you, our faculty and staff, as you work side by side to make it a reality.
Baylor University Provost Nancy Brickhouse, Ph.D., today announced that the University will commence its search for the next Dean of University Libraries. To conduct the search, a committee of eight Baylor faculty and staff will begin meeting this fall with College of Arts & Sciences Dean Lee Nordt as chair.
Baylor University Provost Nancy Brickhouse, Ph.D., today announced the appointment of the Honors College Dean Search Committee who will lead the effort to identify candidates for the school’s next dean. The 12-member search committee will be chaired by Brad Toben, dean of the Baylor Law School and the M.C. & Mattie Caston Professor of Law.