Past Accomplishments

Baylor Takes Second Place in National Tournament


Congratulations are due to Erik Baumann (Philosophy, 2010) and Ray Panneton (Political Science, 2010) who earned second place in the 2010 national tournament of the American Collegiate Moot Court Association (ACMA). Chosen on the basis of regional competitions, the nation's top 64 teams competed in the tournament last weekend in Miami, hosted by Florida International University's College of Law. Erik and Ray, who came into the tournament as the southwest regional champions, advanced to the final round, defeating three other regional champions along the way, including the tournament's top seed. Baylor was one of only a handful of schools to send multiple teams to nationals. David Matthew (Political Science, 2010) and Meaghan Nowell (University Scholars, 2011) also made a strong showing in the tournament.


See HERE for more information about the Moot Court team's national ranking.


Moot Court_AMCA Nationals 2010 Ray and Erik
Erik Baumann and Ray Panneton after placing
second in the 2010 ACMA National Tournament


Baylor Law to Host Undergraduate Competition

The Baylor Undergraduate Moot Court Association partnered with the Law School to host an intercollegiate moot court competition this spring. Baylor Law has the finest facility in the state, so the tournament is a prime opportunity for the Law School to recruit some of the brightest prospective law students in the region. It also gives Baylor Undergraduate Moot Court an opportunity to further build on the foundation of excellence built during the year.

Baylor Wins Regional Tournament, Qualifies for National Championships


In a tournament hosted by the Texas Tech Law School (Nov. 6-7, 2009), Baylor came away with a win in more ways than one. Erik Baumann and Ray Panneton took home the first place trophy, arguing in the final round before a panel of judges that included former Attorney General Alberto Gonzalez, while Meaghan Nowell and David Matthew finished in the top four. Both teams earned berths in the national championship tournament to be held at Florida International University in January.





Moot Court_Texas Tech 2009 Erik and RayMoot Court_Texas Tech 2009 Meaghan and David
(Above left: Erik Baumann and Ray Panneton in the courtroom after winning the final round. Above right: David Matthew and Meaghan Nowell advanced to the semi-finals and qualified for nationals.)


Moot Court_Texas Tech 2009 with Alberto Gonzalez
(Finalists at the Tech conference pose with three judge panel following the final
round. Former U.S. Attorney General Alberto Gonzalez is in the center.
Baylor's Ray Panneton and Erik Baumann are on the left.)


Moot Court_Texas Tech 2009 Group
(Baylor participants left to right: David Matthew, Meaghan Nowell,
Jennifer Cook, Travis Krause, Erik Baumann, Ray Panneton)


Baylor Excels in Fall Tournament

Baylor made a strong showing in its first tournament of the year (Oct. 30-31, 2009). Texas Wesleyan School of Law hosted the 50-team tournament, which included teams from UT-Austin, Texas Tech, Texas A&M, University of Dallas, Arkansas State, Howard Payne, North Texas, and UT-Arlington. Baylor was the only school to place two teams in the quarterfinals. And congratulations to Erik Baumann who took home one of the tournament's top speaker awards.

Moot Court_Wesleyan 2009 Group
(Two Baylor teams pose after breaking into quarterfinals. Left to right: Ray Panneton, Erik
Baumann, David Matthew, Meaghan Nowell. Also competing: Daniel Blauser, Ariel Stevenson,
Jennifer Cook, Alvin Okonkwo.)


Department of Political Science

One Bear Place #97276
Waco,TX 76798-7276