Dr. Lorin Matthews receives URSA Mentor of the Year Award in STEM

April 6, 2020
The Undergraduate Research and Scholarly Achievements (URSA) Steering Committee recognized Dr. Lorin Matthews as the 2020 Baylor Undergraduate Research Mentor of the Year for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics. The award is based on merit, including the quality of the scholarship and student experience generated. The Directors of URA, Dr. Nathan Elkins and Dr. Tamarah Adair, noted that Dr. Matthews' selection was based on her "positive influence on others, including her encouragement of other faculty mentors, contributions to her scholarly field, and direct assistance to students at the interface between education and research".

The steering committee noted Dr. Matthews' engagement in mentoring, high standards, and repeated
participation. Dr. Matthews has mentored more than seventy undergraduate and high school students during her twenty years at Baylor, and directed fiften senior physics research projects as well as four honors thesis. More than twenty of those students have been co-authors on published papers, with as many presenting their work at national and international conferences.

The student-initiated nomination pointed towards Dr. Matthews' availability, helpfulness,
positive influence, and rigor. The student commented “[Dr. Matthews] was genuinely invested in
not only the results of my research, but also in helping me gain a complete understanding of the
topics. I learned more during this experience than I have in a majority of my classes and am a better
physicist for it…. I would not have been able to do research over the summer if not for Dr.
Matthews helping me secure an REU with CASPER.”

Congratulations to Dr. Matthews!
Are you looking for more News?


Baylor Sciences Building D.311
One Bear Place #97316
Waco, TX 76798-7316

(254) 710-2511