Dr. David Hilton

Dr. David Hilton
Associate Professor of Physics, Graduate Program Director
High Res Photo

Associate Professor of Physics


  • Ph.D. - Cornell University- 2002
  • M.S. - Cornell University- 2001
  • M.S. - University of Rochester- 1999
  • B.S. - University of Rochester- 1997


  • NSF CAREER Award – 2010


Dr. Hilton joined the Baylor faculty in Fall 2019. Prior to coming to Baylor, he was an Associate Professor of Physics at the University of Alabama at Birmingham. He did his postdoctoral work at the Center for Integrated Nanotechnology at Los Alamos National Lab as well as at Rice University.

Academic Interests and Research

Dr. Hilton’s research program focuses on the study of insulator-to-metal phase transitions in transition metal oxides and ultrafast investigations of high mobility 2DEGs and dichalcogenides. Primary research tools are ultrafast laser systems, nonlinear optical systems, and high magnetic field spectroscopy, both at Baylor as well as in collaboration with the National High Magnetic Field Laboratory in Tallahassee, FL.

Recent Publications

  1. Jagannath Paul, Christopher Stevens, Ryan P. Smith, Prasenjit Dey, Varun Mapara, Dimitry Semenov, Stephen A. McGill, Robert A. Kaindl, David J. Hilton, and Denis Karaiskaj, “Coherent Two-dimensional Fourier transform spectroscopy using a 25 Tesla resistive magnet,” Review of Scientific Instruments, 90, 063901 (2019). [doi]
  2. Christopher Stevens, Jagannath Paul, Timothy Cox, Prasana Sahoo, Humberto Gutierrez, Volodymyr Turkowski, Dmitry Semenov, Stephen McGill, Myron Kapetanakis, Ilias E. Perakis, David J. Hilton, and Denis Karaiskaj, “Biexcitons in monolayer transition metal dichalcogenides tuned by magnetic fields,” Nature Communications 9, 3720 (2018). [doi]
  3. Jeremy A. Curtis, Ashlyn D. Burch, Biplob Barman, A. Garrison Linn, Luke M. McClintock, Aidan L. O’Beirne, Matt J. Stiles, John L. Reno, Stephen A. McGill, Denis Karaiskaj, and David J. Hilton, “Broadband Ultrafast Terahertz Spectroscopy in the 25 Tesla Split-Florida Helix,” Review of Scientific Instruments 89, 073901 (2018). [doi]
  4. Christopher Stevens, Prasenjit Dey, Jagannath Paul, Zefang Wang, Haoxiang Zhang, Aldo Romero, Jie Shan, David J. Hilton, and Denis Karaiskaj, “The role of electronphonon interactions on the coherence lifetime of monolayer transition metal dichalcogenides,” Solid State Communications 266, 30-33 (2017). [doi]
  5. Svenja Vollmar, David J. Hilton, and Hans Christian Schneider, “Generalized ElliottYafet spin-relaxation time for arbitrary spin mixing,” Physical Review B 96, 075203 (2017). [doi]
  6. Jagannath Paul, Christopher Stevens, Haoxiang Zhang, Prasenjit Dey, Dinesh McGinty, Stephen McGill, Ryan P. Smith, John L. Reno, Volodymyr Turkowski, Ilias Perakis, D. J. Hilton, and Denis Karaiskaj, “Coulomb induced coupling of Landau levels in intrinsic and modulation-doped quantum wells,” Physical Review B 95, 245314 (2017). [doi]
  7. Jeremy A. Curtis, Takahisa Tokumoto, Anthony T. Hatke, Judy G. Cherian, John L. Reno, Stephen A. McGill, Denis Karaiskaj, and David J. Hilton, “Cyclotron decay time of a Two-dimensional electron gas from 0.4 to 100 K,” Physical Review B 93, 155437 (2016). [doi]
  8. J. Paul, C. E. Stevens, C. Liu, A. H. Romero, J. Shan, D. J. Hilton, and D. Karaiskaj, “Strong quantum coherence between Fermi liquid Mahan excitons,” Physical Review Letters 116, 127402 (2016). [doi]
  9. P. Dey, J. Paul, Z. Wang, C. E. Stevens, C. Liu, A. H. Romero, J. Shan, D. J. Hilton, and D. Karaiskaj, “Optical Coherence in Atomic-Monolayer Transition-Metal Dichalcogenides Limited by Electron-Phonon Interactions,” Physical Review Letters 116, 127402 (2016). [doi]
  10. N. F. Brady, K. Appavoo, M. Seo, J. Nag, R. P. Prasankumar, R. F. Haglund Jr., and D. J. Hilton, “Heterogeneous nucleation and growth dynamics in the light-induced phase transition in vanadium dioxide,” Journal of Physics: Condensed Matter 28, 125603 (2016). [doi]


Baylor Sciences Building D.311
One Bear Place #97316
Waco, TX 76798-7316

(254) 710-2511