WACO, Texas (March 31, 2020) – Baylor University President Linda A. Livingstone, Ph.D., announced today that the designation of Master Teacher – the highest honor granted to Baylor faculty members for sustained excellence in teaching – has been conferred on Professor Robert F. Darden III, Dr. Anne-Marie Schultz and Dr. Charles A. Weaver III.
It saddens me to announce the untimely death of our beloved office manager, Nancy Kallus. Nancy died unexpectedly at her home near West on June 3. Both faculty and graduate students are saddened by the loss of this colleague and friend. Nancy was, of course, very competent, having worked at Baylor for 25 years. She was ready to assist me, as chair, and other faculty as well, no matter what needed to be done. Also, Nancy was a joyful person, treating our faculty, graduate students, and undergraduate students with heartfelt kindness and much patience. She was invariably cheerful and also very thoughtful. Nancy greeted us with a smile, and, frequently asked about the children (or grandchildren) of our graduate students or faculty. Nancy was a lovely presence in our department and will be greatly missed. And she will be missed by friends all over campus. Our department extends our most heartfelt condolences to her daughter, Jamie Ruth, her son-in-law, Shannon, and grandchildren, Keri Jo and Justin Ruth and all those who cherished a friendship with Nancy.

Michael Beaty
Professor and Chair
Department of Philosophy
Ph.D. student, Robert Verrill, talks about his time at Baylor as a Dominican priest in the Baylor Lariat article here.
Are you looking for more News?