The Baylor University philosophy department has been an independent academic department since the early 1940s. Graduates of the department have gone on to further work and distinguished academic achievement at many of the most prestigious universities in the world.

The Department is well-represented by graduates who are among the faculty and administration of major universities, leaders in business, distinguished attorneys and judges, and influential theologians and religious leaders.

Baylor began offering the PhD in philosophy in the 2001-2002 school year. At that time, fellowship funding for the terminal MA degree, which Baylor had offered since 1950, ceased to be offered. Baylor has placed PhDs at such schools as Biola University, Georgetown College, Georgetown University, Hope College, Houston Baptist University, the University of Mary, Southwest Baptist Theological Seminary, and West Georgia State University.

Click here to learn more about our undergraduate program, and here to learn more about our graduate program.