Prof. Phillip Johnson PBK Endowed Scholarship & Recipients

Professor Phillip Johnson
Phi Beta Kappa
Endowed Scholarship Recipients
Emma Nelson
McKenzie Arata
Sarah Carr
McKenna Middleton
Katherine Carriveau
Caitlyn Duran
Jessica Abbey
Haley Jones

The Professor Phillip Johnson Phi Beta Kappa Endowed Scholarship was established in spring 2010. Phillip Johnson was a leading figure in Phi Beta Kappa at Baylor from the start of his teaching career in 1977. He served as vice-president and president of the Zeta chapter before taking up the secretary/treasurer position which he held for twenty-six years. On April 17, 2010, he attended and was honored by both the Zeta Chapter and the National Phi Beta Kappa Society at his final initiation banquet; the newly-elected members (graduating seniors and select juniors) of this most prestigious of honor societies shook Dr. Phillip Johnson's hand as they received their election certificates.

Dr. Johnson passed away on May 12, 2010. Throughout his career at Baylor University, Dr. Johnson was deeply dedicated to his teaching, his students and his discipline of Spanish and Latin American Literature; he was kind and gentle in his manner with colleagues and students--always supportive and wanting the best for each person with whom he worked. He leaves with us a legacy of excellence. It is with deep affection for Phil as his colleagues and friends, as well as our recognition of how much he gave to the University that we endeavor to continue his great work encouraging students in the liberal arts and sciences to strive for the highest excellence in their studies and lives. For more information about Dr. Johnson, click here.

To contribute to the scholarship fund, please click here