6th Annual Going for the Gold Gala Raises Over $1 Million

March 8, 2017
Post gala photo
The Baylor University Louise Herrington School of Nursing (LHSON), located in the heart of the Baylor University Medical Center, hosted its sixth annual Going for the Gold Gala on Saturday, February 25, 2017, at the Fairmont Hotel raising more than $1 million for the new nursing school building as well as gifts for scholarships. With more than 600 attendees, the theme was “Coming Together to Make a Difference” and recognized and honored those who serve our communities – both the nurses who care for our sick and wounded and our selfless public servants in the police and firefighting communities.

Providing a lively message at the Gala was keynote speaker, Derek Haas. Along with being a Baylor graduate, Derek is the co-creator and executive producer of NBC’s hit television series Chicago Fire, Chicago PD, Chicago Med and Chicago Justice premiering in March. Bianca Castro, Baylor alumna and co-anchor for NBC-5 served as emcee. Adding to the spectacular evening was a beautiful song performed by Dallas Police Officer Ray Vaughn entitled, “Be the Change” in addition to compelling testimonies shared by LHSON alumna Bailey Harrison Moore, BSN 2015; Erin Wainscott, BSN 2015; Chelsea Whitaker, BA 2005 and Mr. Kelly Kovar, BA 1999. The Gala included over 80 incredible silent and live auction items and was orchestrated for the second year in a row by Gala Chair Mary Ann Hill, 80 volunteer Gala Task Force members as well as 46 LHSON Student Ambassadors.

The evening also spotlighted two Baylor LHSON alums as the “2017 Going for the Gold Gala Champions,” Jessica Haas, BSN 1997 and Annie Young, BSN 2006. These two school nurses work in the Richardson Independent School District and saved two lives last fall. During the week of December 5, a student collapsed on the track at Lake Highlands Junior High and Annie provided AED/CPR rescue. This story follows just weeks after Jessica rescued a mom, Sarah Maupin, at Wallace Elementary just blocks from the Junior High. Click here to watch the story from December 5, click here to watch the November 14 story and click here to watch the December 21 Harry Connick Jr. Show that covered the story.

Also special thanks to Doug Murray with Murray Media World for providing the audio visual and Rose and Aaron Youngblood for producing this year’s Gala video. We also want to thank Baylor Scott & White Health for sponsoring the Scholarship Celebration Dinner on November 10, 2016 at Royal Oaks Country Club which recognized endowed scholarship donors, scholarship recipients and Going for the Gold Gala sponsors.

LHSON is passionate about preparing exemplary nurses for the 21st Century and the key to doing that is recruiting and retaining outstanding students. Past Going for the Gold Galas have featured champion athletes and celebrities such as: Noah Galloway, a wounded Operation Iraqi Freedom U.S. Army war veteran hero and finalist on the TV program, “Dancing with the Stars” along with Terrance Williams, Dallas Cowboys Wide Receiver (2016 gala); Heisman Trophy winner and NFL Quarterback Robert Griffin III (RGIII) and former Baylor linebacker and NFL Hall of Famer, Mike Singletary (2015 gala); America's gold medal legend Mary Lou Retton (2014 gala); former Dallas Cowboys running back Emmitt Smith (2013 gala) and Baylor's championship-winning women's basketball coach Kim Mulkey who joined former Dallas Cowboys quarterback Troy Aikman at the 2012 inaugural gala.
The Baylor University Louise Herrington School of Nursing (LHSON) located in Dallas was established in 1909 as a diploma program within Baylor Hospital in Dallas, which is now Baylor University Medical Center, and in 1950 became one of the six degree-granting schools of Baylor University. The first Baccalaureate degrees were granted in 1950 establishing the school among the earliest baccalaureate nursing programs in Texas. In 1999, the School was renamed the Baylor University Louise Herrington School of Nursing after Louise Herrington Ornelas, a 1992 Baylor Alumna Honoris Causa, who made an endowment gift to the school. Accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education, LHSON offers Bachelor of Science in Nursing (BSN) degrees through a Traditional program and FastBacc (one year accelerated) program. LHSON also offers an online Master of Science in Nursing (MSN) Leadership and Innovation program, as well as Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) programs to include, Family Nurse Practitioner (FNP), Nurse-Midwife (CNM) and Neonatal Nurse Practitioner (NNP). LHSON was featured in U.S. News & World Report for the 2017 Best Graduate Schools ranking our DNP program in the top 50 US nursing schools at #45, our MSN program ranked at #58 and our Nurse Midwifery Program ranked 10th. U.S. News & World Report also ranked our Master of Science in Nursing Leadership and Innovation online degree program at #39 of the “2017 Best Online Graduate Programs.” For more information visit www.baylor.edu/nursing
Are you looking for more News?