Policy and Procedure for Awarding Scholarships

Eta Gamma Chapter, Sigma Theta Tau International Louise Herrington School of Nursing, Baylor University


The Eta Gamma Chapter, Sigma Theta Tau International will award 4 scholarships each fiscal year (June 1-May 31).

  • One Undergraduate Student Scholarship-$200.00-Deadline for submission December 1
  • One Graduate Student Scholarship-$200.00-Deadline for submission December 1
  • One Member Scholarship in Spring-$500.00-Deadline for submission December 1
  • One Member Scholarship in Fall-$500.00-Deadline for submission May 1

Scholarships may be requested for:

  • Conference attendance, if presenting a poster or podium presentation
  • Conducting research, evidence based practice or policy change
  • Providing financial support for professional development or training
  • International work through BU global partners or other professional nursing organizations

THE REQUEST for the scholarship should include the following:

  • Abstract of presentation, poster, research, EBP, Policy change, professional development or international work
  • Brief summary of anticipated benefits to current or future nursing practice
  • Current resume or CV
  • Budget with justification.

Awardees must be:

  • Student: Current student in good standing at LHSON at the time of application.
  • Member: Member of STTI, Eta Gamma Chapter.
  • Willing to present their work at a STTI meeting after their award.

Review Process
Proposals will be evaluated and ranked by a review panel comprised of the Awards  Committee.
One application from each proposal category will be selected.

For questions or concerns regarding this process please contact