STTI Eta Gamma chapter


Featured above are some of the LHSON faculty that are members of STTI. 

Baylor University Louise Herrington School of Nursing
Sigma Theta Tau International - Honor Society of Nursing, Eta Gamma chapter

Future nursing leaders and scholars are proud to be a part of the Eta Gamma Chapter of Sigma Theta Tau International. Student members are invited to join based on their academic achievements and leadership potential. 

Sigma Theta Tau International was established by innovative thinkers who looked forward to a profession that recognizes and uses knowledge and learning to lead in service to others. Founded in 1922 by six students of nursing at Indiana University in the United States of America, Sigma Theta Tau International began with one chapter and six members. It has evolved to more than 450,000 inducted members who are active in more than 90 countries and territories. Over the course of the organization’s history, the commitment to knowledge, learning and service has guided the society in achieving many milestones and firsts in the nursing profession:

  • First nursing research grants
  • First scholarly nursing journal with the Journal of Nursing Scholarship.
  • First philanthropic campaign which resulted in the Center for Nursing Scholarship
  • First electronic library of nursing research and knowledge
  • First to embrace membership and chapters outside the United States
  • First knowledge synthesis and international peer reviewed evidence-based practice journal

To learn more please log in on the STTI website and visit our chapter page: