Brent Phillips and Guest Trombonists in Baylor Recital

March 23, 2022
Brent Phillips, Professor of Trombone at Baylor University, will be joined by three other prominent trombonists for a recital on Sunday, April 3, beginning at 3:30 p.m. in Roxy Grove Hall. Guest performers will be Jonathan Whitaker, Professor of Trombone at the University of Alabama, Baylor alumnus Christian Paarup of the Finnish Radio Orchestra, and Steve Wilson, Chair of the Department of Music and Professor of Trombone at the University of Texas at El Paso.
Assisting this quartet of trombonists will be Kae Hosoda-Ayer, Associate Professor of Piano at Baylor University.
Opening the program will be Jonathan Whitaker as soloist in a transcription of the second movement, “Largo,” from Antonio Vivaldi’s Piccolo Concerto in C major, RV 443.
Brent Phillips will play the third movement, “Andante,” in a transcription from Sergei Rachmaninoff’s Cello Sonata in G minor, Op. 19.
Jonathan Whitaker will return to the stage for instrumental transcriptions of two songs from Des Knaben Wunderhorn by Gustav Mahler, “Wer hat dies Liedlein erdacht?” and “Lob des hohen Verstandes.”
Brent Phillips will play the third movement, “Allegro,” from Allen Molineux’s Trombone Sonata, and Jonathan Whitaker will play David Wilborn’s The Gift of Little G.
Next will come two duos, as Jonathan Whitaker and Brent Phillips team up to perform Three Emily Dickinson Songs by Michael Hennagin: “Heart, We Will Forget Him,” “Going to Heaven,” and “The World Feels Dusty.”
The closing piece will feature all four trombonists in the Richard Myers arrangement of Johann Sebastian Bach’s Fugue in D minor, BWV 913.
This recital is free of charge and open to the public. It is also available for livestreaming at
Are you looking for more News?

Connect With Us

Follow the School of Music on social media & join the conversation.