Baylor Competition Selects Winners for New York Recital

February 13, 2019
On Sunday, February 10, 2019, the final round of Baylor University’s Semper Pro Musica Solo and Chamber Competition took place in Roxy Grove Hall. From among thirty-three contestants, a panel of judges selected seventeen winners to perform in New York City in May.
Winning the Semper Pro Musica Solo Competition were Josh Blessing (marimba), John-Micah Braswell (piano), Javier Castro (flute), Megan Gackle (mezzo-soprano), Nathan Little (trumpet), and Matthew Newhouse (tenor). Winning the Semper Pro Musica Chamber Competition were the trombone octet Eighth Position, with Nick Halbig, Connor Wooley, Dawson Ward, Adele Fuqua, Nathan Taylor, Derek Moseley, Nathan Stanfield, and Jonathan Passmore, and the flute quartet Flute Fleet, with Javier Castro, Felicity Fulton, Jessica Peacock, and Caleb Estrada-Valentín.
These seventeen students will perform at the Semper Pro Music Winners’ Recital in Weill Recital Hall at Carnegie Hall on Thursday, May 23, 2019. Tickets for this 8:00 p.m. event are available through the Baylor University School of Music by contacting Jill Gusukuma at her email address:
Are you looking for more News?

Connect With Us

Follow the School of Music on social media & join the conversation.